Just Outed Myself on Facebook


My friends who I’ve shared with about this pregnancy have been patiently keeping our secret for about two months.  So, I decided that it’s about time to out myself on Facebook.  For no rhyme or reason, other than it’s a gorgeous day in Seattle, I chose to do it just a few minutes ago.

My message read: Around August 4, I will make my mom, @hername, a grandmother again!  We’re halfway there and very excited!

I decided to make it fun for my mom too.  It’s hysterical that she’s on Facebook, first of all!  And, second, she says she’s on it to keep track of us kids and her grandkids – my sister has kids who are old enough to be on it.

It’s a relief to come “out” and to be able to share this fun news with all of our friends.  It is also scary.  What if something goes wrong between now and August 4?  What if…?  What if….?!  I need to stop living in the what if and enjoy…so I’m going to enjoy this and go eat a girl scout cookie!

Happy Friday, friends!

12 thoughts on “Just Outed Myself on Facebook

  1. The worrying will never end sadly. All part of being a mom. But in August you WILL be a mom to a healthy baby girl!!!
    Just try and relax and enjoy these last months just you and your husband. Though it’s an exciting change your whole world will be turned upside down!

  2. First of all happy first sunny day in about a million years! What a great feeling to finally be out. I’m counting down the days until I can stop lying to people myself.

  3. Congrats on coming out. I too found it daunting and nerve wracking to come out on FB, even though I knew everyone would be happy about it.
    I hope you enjoy the rest of the pregnancy and try not to let the what ifs get too much control!

  4. Hi! Congratulations on your pregnancy. I think it’s great you finally came out on Facebook! I agree with other people who said that you shouldn’t let the what ifs drive you crazy. I am definitely a what if kind of gal, but when I am fortunate enough to get pregnant I will be shouting it from the rooftops! 🙂

    ICLW #86

  5. Congratulations!!! All three of my pregnancies were IVF, and though I had a lot of those same what-ifs with my second (my first son died the day after he was born), I knew that if God forbid, the what-ifs actually happened, I’d want to have the support. I’d want the encouragement and I’d not want to have to explain that I was pregnant again in the first place, much less that something had gone so wrong. Of course, I was posting pictures of our little blasts on FB, so people surely knew. The what-ifs will make you insane, but your attitude of taking it day by day is great…enjoy exactly what joy you have this very minute. You know all too well it can be gone in the blink of an eye and you don’t want to look back and regret a single second you wasted on worry! Again, congrats!
    ICLW #67

Please share your story

