So Lame…(Another reason I hate infertility)


Do you constantly stop yourself from doing things because you hope that you’re going to get pregnant or you’re planning some sort of fertility related procedure, etc.?  I’m doing that right now.  It sucks.  It is just one more thing to get mad about relating to infertility.

One of my goals once I moved here is to participate in a class.  To not just meet new people in Seattle and hopefully make friends but also to stimulate my mind/body and keep me busy.  I work from home as a consultant and so not being in an office precludes me from meeting new people in an environment that fosters friendships.  There is a dance studio in our neighborhood – I could even technically walk there from our apartment.  BUT, the class (ballet) next available class that I would want to take is an 8 week-long class that starts on November 7.  It goes through January 22 (because of the holidays).  If I signed up for it, I would miss at least two, if I move forward with the IVF cycle in December and then after the IVF I’m not going to want to do any exercise because I’m going to be so afraid of it not allowing my body to accept a pregnancy.

So, I’m once again being lame and not signing up for a class that I’d love to take.  I took ballet as a child and took a few adult classes off and on a few years ago.  I love it and would love to get into it again (for fun).

I guess I’ll have to sign up for an art class or a writing class but then I face the same challenge of missing a couple of classes when I’m gone.  Sigh.  I’ll figure it out.

I might just sign up for something because I shouldn’t let it rule my life.

Darn infertility.  It interrupts life in so many ways that people don’t even realize.  This sucks.  Period.

8 thoughts on “So Lame…(Another reason I hate infertility)

  1. Oh, I hear you! We didn’t go on vacation for like 3 years because of IF! We finally decided to put an end to that last year…and guess what? I didn’t get pregnant on vacation 🙂

  2. Try not to put your life on hold, I know it is hard because I have and I am doing the same thing, but try to fins something that you want to do just so that you can be happy and have a little you time.

  3. Maybe you can find a place to take classes that lets you buy a package of classes and schedule them at times that work for you? My yoga studio does that, and a place I’ve done pilates has a system like that too. So you don’t have to sign up for “8 Mondays” you can sign up for “8 classes that you use within 4 months” or something. Of course, I don’t know if many dance or writing classes would work like that. I think making local connections and doing things to fulfill yourself is going to be really important though. Good luck!

  4. I can totally relate to that! I can think of a million things I’ve put on hold 😦 Lately I’ve been trying to make an effort to still do more, but it’s hard especially with treatments.

  5. Yes, infertility takes away so many parts of our lives, it’s horrible. I relate to the loneliness, as I was unemployed for 7 months after my first miscarriage. At the same time, I was glad to be away from people with kids. I joined a French class that met during regular working hours and made friends with a bunch of senior citizens. As it was a conversation class, it was perfect. They all talked about what they had done during the week: going to a museum, a concert, visiting a historic place… children were seldom mentioned, except for the occasional grandchild visit. I hope you can find a similar experience.

  6. Hey! I would love to chat offline about dr sher. Email me at Lindsey.l.hunter@gmail.com. Also I can’t tell you how many things I missed out on because I didn’t want to do strenuous of things and loose “the baby” which of course there never was! So you’re not alone, if makes us all a little crazy!

  7. I can relate. Hope you are able to find a class soon that will work for you. I’ve gone to several ballet classes at a studio here that has an affordable drop-in rate for classes. They also let you purchase a punch card that’s good for several months and you can use it for any 10 classes. Maybe there is something similar in Seattle? Good luck.

Please share your story

