A Sunday Trip to the ER


We were running out the door this afternoon and I grabbed a peanut butter and jelly sandwich as a quick snack. I let Roo have her first taste of peanut butter and jelly, which she loved! MH and I jumped into the car with Roo in the back and took off. I noticed on the way to the store that she was rubbing her face a lot and that she was very flushed.

When we got to the store and I was getting her unbuckled to put her in the carrier, I noticed that she was broken out in hives and she was all puffy in her face. Immediately I knew that it was the peanuts. We called my brother, a doctor, who said to head to the nearest ER. MH raced as safely and quickly as he could to the children’s hospital close to our home.

There, they gave us Benadryl right away and monitored her breathing for a little more than an hour. The doctor came in and confirmed that Roo has a peanut allergy and that we should rid our home of all peanuts and other tree nuts. She also gave us a prescription for an epi pen to keep on hand. We have two now.

We were lucky she didn’t have a worse reaction but that could happen the next time she is exposed to the nut. So we will have to be extra cautious from now on.

What a scary afternoon but I’m relieved to know it is something we can handle. But, it’s just one more thing to think about and worry. We go to the pediatrician as a follow up this week and will probably have to see a pediatric allergist.

Are any of your little ones allergic to peanuts and nuts?

9 thoughts on “A Sunday Trip to the ER

  1. I’ve worked many summers with my mom at her preschool and they have to be extra careful with what they serve the kids who have peanut allergies for snack because foods like Goldfish are made in factories that also make foods that contain nuts. Just something to be wary of, depending on how bad Roo’s allergy is.

    I’m so glad that everything with Roo turned out ok, I’m sorry you had to experience something so scary.

  2. Oh man that’s scary! But you’re right, manageable. I’ve yet to give Molly any nut products. My mother-in-law is allergic to tree nuts (not ground nuts like peanuts) so I’m wary. When I do let her try I think I’ll do it on a day we have an appointment with Molly’s doctor.
    I’m glad roo’s reaction wasn’t more serious!

  3. That is so scary! I’m glad you caught it so quickly. I hope that this is something she one day outgrows, but in the meantime I have found that most daycares and preschools serve nut-free meals and snacks and ask parents bringing food in to be vigilant. Good luck!

  4. So scary! I’m glad that she is doing okay though and that you were able to notice the reaction so quickly. I hope you guys don’t have to deal with that again, but at least you’re prepared!

Please share your story

