One Year Home Anniversary


One year ago today we brought Roo home from the NICU. It is amazing how much has changed. She was so tiny and she still is but now she has her personality and doesn’t look like a preemie anymore. I’m still in awe of myself and what we did to get through those first few months – hell, the first year. It was freaking hard. It still is.

I don’t think parents who have full-term babies understand. I know they want to but it’s impossible. I don’t blame them and I’m glad they aren’t in the same position but it makes it hard for them to completely celebrate these milestones like I do ๐Ÿ™‚

Here are a couple of photos to compare how big she’s gotten. The first is of she in her car seat on the way home from the hospital. The second is from two days ago in our backyard.

Thanks for being on this journey with me. I appreciate and love you for your support, encouragement and strength.

Xoxoxo

20130703-230820.jpg

20130703-230837.jpg

7 thoughts on “One Year Home Anniversary

  1. Congrats! Roo sure has grown!
    Even though my guy isn’t/wasn’t a preemie, I too am amazed at how much he has grown in the last year (10 months). It is beyond amazing to finally get the chance to be a parent myself and experience every single milestone (biting included). Here’s to many more milestones to come!

  2. Such a big girl!!! Happy one year!
    I agree, we, with full term babies have no clue. One of my close friends had 30 week identical twins. They spent 67 and 69 days in the nicu. It was one hell of a journey and she is one very tough lady. But you have done amazing and miss Roo is living proof that you can do this. She is perfect.

  3. Miss Roo AND you are doing terrifically. My own babies were full term, but I have fostered premature babies. The key for both is making steady progress. When among ‘competitive comparison’ moms remember to laugh… they are insecurity about their children. Early walking or whatever does not make any difference at 12 years. Late readers can become highly paid professionals. Blue eyes are simply different from brown.
    Miss Roo and You are doing fabulously!!!!!!

  4. Yeah for surviving your first year! Our 32 weekers are now 15 months – and I totally agree with you – it was a hard first year. We are so thankful we survived alive! Roo is very cute!

Please share your story

