Nursery Inspiration – No. 1


Now that we know that Roo is a girl, I’ve become obsessed with figuring out her nursery.  I was able to go to our new house (fingers crossed – still waiting to hear) and measure some of the rooms that we need to buy new furniture including Roo’s nursery.  So, I have the dimensions and can start to envision how I want it to look.  MH is very into helping me figure out how to decorate our new home – which I love but could be a challenge since we have most similar but some different tastes.  I think his need to be refined just a little to catch up with mine 😉

Early on I wanted to use Winnie-the-Pooh’s Hundred Acre Wood prints that I got at the Victoria & Albert Museum in London many years ago.  But, now that we know Roo is a girl I’m thinking more girly.  The room is already painted a pale yellow, which I like.  MH and I spent time in France on our three-week European honeymoon and love many things French.  I was thinking of hiring a muralist to paint the outline of the Eiffel Tower on one of the walls along with some other French images that go along…the images would all be in a grey to compliment the yellow already on the walls.  I could get yellow and grey bedding.

I’ve fallen in love with the Jenny Lind crib.  Have you seen it?

I love the simple but sophisticated look and the fact that it can be found on various sites for under $300.

Have you pregnant ladies started planning your nurseries?

7 thoughts on “Nursery Inspiration – No. 1

  1. Oh man, we rearranged rooms this past weekend and officially started the nursery and OMG I am so overwhelmed!!! All I was able to decide is I want gray walls and then I had to step away, it was just too much!

    Good luck!

  2. Good luck. I love your idea of yellow and gray–sounds very soft. 🙂

    And I would just like to say that as a little girl I *loved* Winnie-the-Pooh! 😉 Those prints you describe sound fantastic, and I hope you find a way to use them at some point.

Please share your story

