20 Week Update


MH laughs at me because I love countdowns.  I countdown everything (days ’til vacation starts, days ’til it ends [f’ed up to countdown when vacation ends, right?!], days ’til our wedding, days ’til Roo is born!).  And, waiting to give birth and the countdown for this life experience is the biggest countdown of them all!  This week, I hit the half way mark of pregnancy.  Eeeek – in a good way!  It also means I’ve hit the halfway mark of the second trimester.

This morning, I had my 20 week update with my OB.  It was a super quick visit with her.  I didn’t have many questions for her, she did a quick check up, answered some brief questions and sent me on my way!  Roo’s heartbeat was hard to find because she was moving around so much- we could hear her kicking.  When my doctor did get it, her heart was beating fast at 166 bpm.  She’s an active little one 🙂

I asked about sleeping positions because sleeping on my left side is really giving me an ache and she said that I can sleep on my right as well – just not completely on my back as that hinders blood flow to the placenta and umbilical cord.  So, I’ll see if I can find a better position.  Also, she said that I can take some Tylenol PM and see if that helps.  If it doesn’t and I get to a point where I’m not getting much sleep at all, she will prescribe me some Ambien.

This week also is a milestone in that I am really feeling Roo move around – not all the time though.  I can feel her best at night, when I should be sleeping.  Last night at 2am, I was laying on the couch watching reality TV with my hands on my belly.  Roo was kicking like crazy and was kicking so hard that I know if MH had his hands on my belly, he would be able to feel her too.  I’ve got to admit that feeling Roo move around inside me kind of freaks me out.  Am I crazy?

That raises a point that I’ve mentioned before…in spite of the challenges in the road to get to this pregnancy and this point in pregnancy, I don’t think I like being pregnant.  It is something that I’ve dreamed of for my entire life.  I pretended I was a mommy when I was little starting with a pillow under my shirt to give me a belly.  I thought I would LOVE being pregnant but I have to admit that I really don’t.  I can’t wait until Roo arrives on or around August 4 and I’m trying my very hardest to embrace and enjoy pregnancy.  One of my email updates says that these are the best weeks of pregnancy and to enjoy them but I can honestly say that I don’t think so.  I think my best day of pregnancy will be the day that Roo is born.

In the meantime, I am trying to focus on preparing for Roo’s arrival.  Two friends back East have stepped up and are offering to throw a shower for me – yay!!  I’m hoping to meet a friend who I met online and who has struggled along side me with a loss – she is due a month before me!  I’ll get to see my mom and dad.  I haven’t seen my dad since MH and I got married – my dad has been working a lot and flitting around the world with my mom.  I can’t wait!!  I got my ticked today and was able to use miles and even will be able to fly to DC in First Class!  I paid extra to upgrade to Premium on the return flight.  I wanted to ensure Roo and I are comfortable on these long flights.

Because my 20 week appointment was today I’ll give you my weekly update early.  Roo is the size of a cantaloupe and that’s very clear by the much larger bump I’m sporting these days 🙂  I’ll take an updated bump photo and post it this week.

How far along? 20 weeks, 3 days
Total weight gain:
Up a total of 10 pounds since my very first OB appointment
Maternity clothes? 
Yes
Stretch marks? None, still slathering up every day with cocoa butter lotion
Sleep: It’s bad…hoping to get some relief with a new sleeping position and possibly some Tylenol PM, as needed
Best moment this week: Really feeling Roo move around and be super active in there!
Miss anything? A good night’s sleep
Movement: YES – tons!
Food cravings: Sweets
Anything making you queasy or sick:  Nothing in particular – just get nauseated when I don’t have a full belly
Labor Signs: None
Belly Button in or out?  In but my belly button is nearly completely flattened
Wedding rings on or off?  On
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy, happy, happy!
Looking forward to: MH feeling Roo for the first time

4 thoughts on “20 Week Update

  1. Hi! I was wondering where you put your hand in order to feel the baby’s kick? I’m almost 20 weeks and have felt a few flutters but nothing more. Not sure if should be feeling near the belly button, bellow it or above it…

    • Now, I feel Roo kick me mostly on my right side as that seems to be where she likes to be the most. But around 20 weeks, I felt her move around lightly all over. It’s just in the past 5 days or so that I really am able to feel her kick really hard. You’ll get there soon 🙂

Please share your story

