Let’s Talk About Pelvic Floor Exercises


Pelvic Floor Exercises also known as kegel exercises are hard for me to remember to do. I know how important they are to help maintain the strength of the uterus and the bladder. Maintaining the strength of my uterus is important but my bladder is what I care about more. Let me tell you a story…

Three years ago, I broke my foot. I’d been training for a half marathon and was running a lot. I went with friends to Alta in Utah for a long weekend of skiing and struggled with my ski boots. The weekend after my ski trip, I fell ill with the flu. A friend from DC was in San Francisco for work and I dragged myself out of bed after three days of not leaving my house to meet her for dinner. On my way back to my car, I stepped off a curb and fell to the ground for no reason whatsoever (or so I thought). Totally embarrassing to be caught falling in front of a bunch of strangers, I quickly got up and drove home. I walked up the three flights of stairs to my apartment (no elevator) and once home looked down at my foot to see why it was bothering me. Well, it was about triple the size that it should be and quickly turning black and blue. To keep this long story short, it was broken. I probably had a stress fracture that was exacerbated by the half marathon training and the skiing. It was a non-weight bearing injury, which meant I was on crutches and off my foot for a while. A friend picked me up for dinner one night and we met other friends in Berkeley – which is across the Bay Bridge and about 30 minutes away (depending on traffic). We ate and drank well that evening and on the way home we got caught in traffic. I had to pee. At home, I struggled as usual to get up to my apartment. I was tipsy (OK, I was probably drunk) and it took me about 10 minutes longer than it should have to get up those stairs…I started to giggle and laugh at how ridiculous my situation was – alone in the stairwell of my apartment building, urgently needing to pee. Needless to say, I didn’t make it to the toilet. I was laughing too hard at myself and peed my pants in the entryway of my apartment.

Sooooo….I realize that this example is an extreme example of my fear of peeing in my pants! BUT, it certainly is possible! I need to practice my kegels every day. I need to remind myself to do better. I need to not pee my pants πŸ™‚

Oh, and in between, MH and I met and started dating πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Pelvic Floor Exercises

  1. An important thing to remember about kegels that it seems no one knows is that you have to have a strong base for any of it to matter!!! Meaning you need to do some squats and some lunges and get your thighs nice and strong to provide the base support of the pelvic cavity. Keep doing your kegels if you want but definitely strengthen up those leg muscles as well!

    http://mamasweat.blogspot.com/2010/05/pelvic-floor-party-kegels-are-not.html

    http://thestir.cafemom.com/pregnancy/117451/Do_Kegels_Help_or_Hurt

    http://fitbottomedmamas.com/2010/09/the-squat-is-the-new-kegel/

  2. Ok. Im sorry about your foot but your story had my almost peeing MY pants!! Too funny, im sure it was terrible at the time but looking back pretty funny!!

Please share your story

