19 Week Update


We’re still floating on air about finding out that Roo is a girl.  After all the consideration of not sharing the sex with friends and family until Roo’s birth day, we have been eagerly telling just everyone that she’s a girl!  What was I thinking that I could keep this fun news a secret from people?!  My parents are so excited – my mom has already started shopping.  I told my brother and sister-in-law (the ones who just had a baby girl).  My sister-in-law is going to send us a box of baby girl clothes – the first nice thing she has offered to do in a long time!  We’ve also started to share with our friends as well.

I have to admit though that you – my online friends – are more excited than my friends in real life.  I don’t know why.  It could be that they are in a different place than me – either having had their kids a while ago or single and dating.  Whatever the reason, I’m grateful for you and your excitement for me!

The other BIG news from this week is that I am confident that I’ve felt Roo move.  I’ve had inklings that I can feel her but this week those little movements/kicks are more consistent and stronger.  I love it and I can’t wait until they get even stronger!!  It’s a strange feeling that I’m “not alone” but it is comforting to know that she’s getting bigger and is healthy in there.

I don’t have a bump photo this week to share.  I think I’ll do them every other week but we’ll see.  Roo is the size of a mango this week and I still need to find a different way to demonstrate how big she is getting.  I’m still grossed out by comparing her to the size of something that I might eat.  Any suggestions?

How far along? 19 weeks, 5 days
Total weight gain:
Up a total of 4.4 pounds since my very first OB appointment
Maternity clothes? 
Yes, I need to find some dresses – I really want a maxi dress or two but I have no idea where to look for inexpensive ones that fit a petite 5’1″ woman – do you know where I can go?
Stretch marks? None, still slathering up every day with cocoa butter lotion
Sleep: It’s 3am – ’nuff said!
Best moment this week: Finding out that Roo is a girl!
Miss anything? Being able to eat regular meals
Movement: YES – FINALLY!!!
Food cravings: Sour cream and onion potato chips and anything sweet!
Anything making you queasy or sick:  Poultry – scared to try it again
Gender Predictions: A girl! I was right!!
Labor Signs: None
Belly Button in or out?  In but my belly button is nearly completely flattened
Wedding rings on or off?  On
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy, happy, happy!
Looking forward to: Reaching the mid-point of pregnancy on Saturday!!

3 thoughts on “19 Week Update

  1. I’m sorry to hear your real life family and friends arent seeming to feel excited but I sure am! How cool to get all those clothes!

    A note on maxi dresses, Since I’m also 5’1″ I only own one and had to hem it myself. But I cheated and did this iron on stuff except for actually sewing. I CAN sew but was pressed for time before a trip and never got around to it. It may involve some work, but don’t rule out tall-people clothes just yet! My only other idea would be to try and look online. If you find anything worth sharing, please do!

Please share your story

