Double Trouble


Today Roo is 6 weeks and 4 days old and she is full term at 40 weeks and 2 days. At her weigh in today, she is 8 pounds 4 ounces – a little more than double her birth weight (my math sucks especially with lack of sleep!) of 3 pounds 14 ounces. She is double the trouble and double the cuteness with her chubby little cheeks!! πŸ™‚

Her pediatrician says that she is doing so well that I can move to exclusively breast feeding her! I’m so excited and proud of myself!! The last month has been really hard. Pumping and feeding her has been one of the hardest parts of motherhood that I’ve experienced.

When she was still in the NICU, pumping wasn’t hard because the nurses fed her more than half the time. All I had to worry about was getting my breast milk to the hospital. At home, it has been twice the work. Yes, I’ve had help but it has been an exhausting challenge.

I know that there will be challenges with nursing as well but I hope that it will be a lot easier than juggling both. I will need/want to pump occasionally so that I can leave Roo and if she doesn’t nurse from both sides, which happens sometimes, I’ll pump the other side.

We also don’t have to fortify her milk as frequently. The doctor recommends it to help supplement her vitamins but only if we give her a bottle.

Now, I can go back to obsessing over which breast pump to invest in. I can send the hospital grade pump back!!! Now that I’m a ‘pro’ I think I’ll only get a single pump. I don’t need the double – unless I get a job outside of the home, which is very unlikely at the moment.

Woohoo for tremendous progress! I’m proud of Roo and of myself!

Thanks for all of your support and encouragement! Nourishing a baby, a preemie, is hard and a lot of pressure.

Xo,
Michelle

7 thoughts on “Double Trouble

  1. Such great news!!! Congrats mama, you’ve done so well nourishing your baby. DOUBLE the weight is amazing! She’s looking so healthy and happy, I’m so happy you can switch to exclusively breast feeding and no longer be a slave to the pump. Yay!! xoxo

  2. Congrats! That is really great news!!! Enjoy exclusively nursing!! Roo is not much behind S, who was born at 6 lbs 12 ounces! She is just barely over 9 lbs now. You probably don’t want a manual, but just bought a medela harmony to use as back up and for when I travel with S etc. I haven’t used it yet but will let you know what I think. I mostly only bought it because there was a coupon for it when I bought my pump in style advanced, and I wanted some kind of back up just in case my pump is ever temporarily out of commission when I am back at work. I will take it when I travel next week because I am sure my mother would like to try giving a bottle once or twice when I see her.

  3. She is a BEAUTIFUL child. I am so happy for you all. Look at her and realize in one year she will be pulling herself up, considering this walking thing, and loving grabbing everything she can. FABULOUS and you will find the impossible has happened and you love her even more.
    Congratualtions!

  4. I’m soo happy for you!!! Roo is doing so well because of her amazing mama. Yes bf full time can be a challenge but I’m very happy to just be able to pop him on a boob when he’s upset or hungry!
    Keep up the good work!

Please share your story

