tap…tap..tap…you there?


I wouldn’t blame you if there is no one left reading this blog and all I get is radio silence. I can’t believe that it has been about 4 months since I last updated. I don’t know why but I haven’t been motivated to post. So much has been happening in our world – mostly positive!

On Roo…

She’s doing great. My little doll. She’s walking and running and trying to jump. She has more words:

  • Beesh (beach) ball
  • Bool (school) bus
  • Ornsh (orange) ball
  • Baby
  • Gee (what she calls her stuffed Roo, short for Kangee) and Mama’s Gee (she found her back up one and thinks it is mine!)

She gives everything a name (e.g., Mama Beep Beep, Dada Beep Beep, Baby Beep Beep for her cars). It’s really cute.

Her imagination has taken off and is really into imaginative play. Someone gave her a tea set and she makes tea (dee) for her stuffed animal friends and us. My parents gave her a Fis.her Pri.ce doll house as an early Christmas present and she loves all of the characters and has them play together. I love watching her mind work.

She has made so much progress yet still has so far to go. The genetic test came back normal – YAY! But leaves us with questions still as to why she is delayed. She is still about 9-12 months behind. She’s gaining weight slowly but surely. At her endocrinologyย  appointment, she weighed in at 24 pounds (with clothes on) and is 33 inches tall. Everyone is so surprised when I tell them that she’s almost two and a half. She’s my tiny little bug.

We saw a biochemical geneticist earlier in the week and she ordered some additional tests to see if we can make some more progress in determining what is causing her delays. She warned us that we may not find anything and that it might take years to figure out why she is behind. (Not very promising)….

Roo started “school” twice a week in September. She is doing great. I drop her off and she says, “Bye Mom.” She is so happy to see me when I pick her up. I thought she would struggle but she only cries if we’ve missed a day or two and then by the next time she’s ok. We’re working to get her more engaged in playing while she’s at school but she still needs a teacher to guide her to make a choice. I seriously thought that I would be the mom whose child cried the entire time but she doesn’t! I’m so pleased

Roo's first day

Roo’s first day of school; there’s a one way mirror so I can spy on her! She took her Roo with her for company ๐Ÿ™‚

On the Montessori school…

As for my Montessori school idea, I have a more promising idea in the works. I can’t wait to share. It is similar to a school but even better and will make a difference to even more in our community. It will be Montessori inspired and will be play based ๐Ÿ™‚ Stand by…I’ll do a password protected post on this in the very near future to share more with you, if you’re interested.

On me…

I’m OK. I’m motivated on so many levels by my new project that I can only move forward and be excited. Marriage is not motivating at all. A part of me just feels like I’m going to stay married until my new plan is in place. I’m going through the motions. I’ve asked for marriage therapy and tried it with him unsuccessfully and asked again without any response. We lack any and all intimacy. I’m so sad. I’m so lonely. I don’t know how we can turn things around…

On us…

We are visiting my parents for Christmas in Europe. I’m really looking forward to it. I can’t wait to see them and celebrate one of my favorite holidays of the year. Roo loves my parents so much – she calls them Ma and Pa. I don’t look forward to a 14 hour plus flight but it’ll be worth it! She and I went to Florida in October and she was a great little traveler. I think she’ll do great and it’ll be easier with another set of hands to help!

IMG_0447.JPG

On you…

I’ve been silently reading/following and cheering all of you on from afar. I love the progress that your little one(s) have been making. If I don’t make it back online before the end of the year, I wish all of you a wonderful holiday season and Happy New Year!

16 thoughts on “tap…tap..tap…you there?

  1. I was happy to get the email saying you had an update. Thought i know its difficult to not have a positive genetic screening so at least you could have some answers, it really is a good thing. I know you have some more tests coming up but im hopeful that roo will catch up and you can just look forward to a normal life with your beautiful daughter. I cant wait to hear about what your idea is, im sure it will be really amazing. I wish you sooo many good thoughts while you navigate through your personal life. You are a strong woman and will be successful with or without him (which im sure you already know)

  2. So happy to read you again! Any chance you’re coming to northern Germany? ๐Ÿ˜‰ wouldn’t it be great to meet and visit!

  3. What a great update! (Well except for the marriage part.) Roo sounds like she’s doing really well! Re: genetic testing, does that men’s there’s no genetic issue or just that they haven’t found it? I have a friend whose son is similar in some ways to Roo but different in others. They didn’t figure out his genetic disorder until he was almost 4, but know they are able to connect with others which is nice. I hope she continues to thrive like she has been!

    • Interesting to hear they didn’t figure things out until 4. How did they finally reach that diagnosis?

      For us, it’s just that they haven’t yet figured it out yet. We’ve been told that we might never know or it might be that it takes a while.

      It’s fun to see Dylan thriving ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. So happy to hear things are good with roo! Archie is 2yrs and 2 months and only 22 pounds so I’ve got a little peanut too. I’m so sorry your marriage is so stuck. You can make someone fight for it, only keep inviting them to want to fight for it. I hope you guys find your way. Will be thinking of you and can’t wait to hear about your new project!

  5. I am still here! Glad Roo is loving school and coming along so well with her words. And we are still not jumping over here at 25 months so that sounds pretty great!!! I am sorry your marriage is so stuck, I can only imagine how lonely that must be – to want to fix it and just not have it happening, especially when you have a baby together. R is also 32″ and 23 lbs, little munchkin here too – but not at all surprising as I was a very small child and stayed pretty small. She looks so cute in her class – I am so jealous of the one way glass – I would love to watch R in class. Can’t wait to hear more on your montessori – would be amazing to make that dream come true!

  6. I’m so happy to hear that Roo is doing so well! But I’m sorry about your relationship troubles. That must be really difficult. I hope you find the answers you need in that area.
    I totally understand the lack of motivation! For me I want to blog but am too tired to form coherent thoughts. I have oodles of posts started but can’t finish. Maybe it’s just time I need lol.
    Glad you’re well!!

Please share your story

