Speech Delays


We’ve been working with a speech therapist. It is a slow haul. I wish I could speed things up. She has been coming every other week but each week we have to start all over each time because Roo is so shy. The first 30 minutes is spent warming up and then we can get started but then it’s time to finish up. I got frustrated last week and asked her to come once a week in the beginning to help build a better rapport with Roo. She is open to it and needs to get approval. I’m hoping that it will get approved and helps.

Roo still has only a handful of spoken words at 23 months.

Mama
Dada
Blue – boo
Woof
Baa
Moo
Pa – for my dad but sounds like ba
Ma – for my mom
Yeah – for yes
No!!! – she’s got that down pat 🙂
Vroom
Wee – for cars/wheels
Wawa – for water
Ball – sounds like baa

She has more signs:
DownKangaroo
Cracker
Rabbit
Thank you
Please
Music
Different
Again
All Done
More
Food/Hungry – she uses the interchangeably
Wet
Car
Horn
Help
Fish
Bird
Duck
Milk
Hi/bye

She also has really good receptive cognition too, which is a relief.

We were recommended two books, which I really like:

The Big Book of Exclamations, which helps engage kiddos through storytelling

It Takes Two to Talk, which helps me as the parent to learn to slow down in my own speech to encourage her speech development – great for parents and caregivers (but is pricey – I borrowed it from the library before investing in it)

I’m hoping that she will start to speak more clearly soon! She’s definitely interested in “talking” more with babbling.

What books are you reading with your kiddos with speech delays or on your own to help them?

3 thoughts on “Speech Delays

  1. Our son also has speech delay. At age 2, he tested at the level of a 12-month-old. Like your daughter, he tested normal (or above-average, actually) in cognition.

    He is now 28 1/2 months old and has been receiving speech therapy for about 2 months. We are seeing some progress, and it is encouraging.

    A couple of friends whose children also had speech delays recommended the video Baby Babble. (It was recommended to them by their speech pathologists.) I bought it, and my sons (we have twins) watched it a few times. Fair warning: from an adult perspective, it seems kind-of weird.

    Not sure if the video helped, but I figured it couldn’t hurt.

  2. This isn’t really a comment about this post specifically but just wanted to say thanks for your support and I’m sorry you have and so many challenges with little Roo. These are real issues, unlike mine. Just wanted to say that it’s so great all you are doing to get a good diagnosis on Roo. I know it’s hard but keep it up! I actually do work with some rare childhood diseases and something that comes up over and over is how important proper diagnosis is and how hard it is to make that happen. Not saying Roo has something rare going on but rare or not I know what you are doing for her is exactly right, even with all the crappy hurdles you have to jump through.
    Love to you…

Please share your story

