A Love Letter to Roo: One!!


My dear, Roo!

Happy, happy birthday! I can’t believe that you’re a one year old.

You, my girl, are the light of my life – from the very second you took your first breath and I heard you give a little yell. You are my fiesty fighter! You come by it honestly. I guess I was like you when I was little and I still am today πŸ™‚

The past month has been a whirlwind of development. You took to army crawling like a champ and you come find me wherever I am. You crawled out of your bedroom for the first time to find me as I was preparing your bath. You were so excited when you found me – even though I was only about five feet away from you!

You are a strong little girl – both headstrong and physically. You can close your bedroom door with one hand. I have to be careful not to leave you alone in case you decide to shut the door with me on the other side. I’m glad we had the professional baby proofers come in when we did.

You are talking up a storm. Even though you don’t say anything recognizable, you are telling us a lot. You can communicate with us very clearly. You sometimes will even use the sign ‘more’ when you really want something more. It isn’t often but you do it sometimes.

You really love that I give you choices. I let you choose which book to read and what you want to eat. You have clear preferences and I love that you can choose. You will be an independent girl!

You continue to love music and books. I sing with you all day long. I make up songs but the ones you love most are the popular kids songs like Head Shoulders Knees and Toes, Itsy Bitsy Spider, etc.

Food is still a fun experience for you. Your favorites are still pears and apples. You adore Plum Organic pouches and look for them in the cupboard when I open the door. You’re also growing more fond of green veggies except for broccoli, which is a shame because I find it the easiest of the greens to prepare. But, I find ways to sneak broccoli into your meals πŸ˜‰

You LOVE your dada. But, I’m still your favorite and I’m totally ok with that most of the time!

Your personality is blooming and you are a fun, giggly little girl who smiles a lot. You like to make us laugh and find ways to entertain us. I love watching you develop in your own time.

One year ago, you were a tiny peanut who I was afraid to snuggle to tightly. Today, you squeeze me tightly and don’t want to let go. I love that we are so deeply connected. I love that I can call you my daughter.

The last year has been one of the hardest but most rewarding years so far in my life. You are worth it and I promise never to stop making you smile and laugh! I promise to wipe your tears, kiss the bumps and bruises, and giggle with you until we are giggled out!

Happy birthday, my Roo! I love you with my whole heart.

Your Mama

20130625-225812.jpg

6 thoughts on “A Love Letter to Roo: One!!

Please share your story

