Starting a Group for Preemie Moms


One of the things missing in my life is knowing any other moms of preemies in real life. I’ve looked off and on for support groups since Roo was born but nothing exists.

I love my mommy group but as I’ve said before, it is getting harder and harder for me to see their babes grow and develop normally without sadness and some jealousy. I need and want to connect with other moms of preemies who understand where I am. Where Roo is.

My therapist suggested that I start my own group. She said that I have the perfect skill set and social know how to get a group of moms together and start a group. It isn’t intended to be a support group per se but a social group of peers who understand one another.

She suggested making it a formal thing with business cards and flyers. So I’m working on a website, getting a logo created and then I will look for my fellow mommies. I’ve started to dream big too.

The Ma.rch of Di.mes does a great job of helping parents while in the hospital but they redirect once you are out of the hospital. They say to look for a support group in your area but don’t provide much direction.

I’ve also done searches online and found some resources but have gotten no response from those organizations. It’s disappointing.

I would love to eventually help connect preemie moms with other preemie moms around the country. Even if its just two moms who meet. I think there is a need that is not being met that I would like to help meet.

My background is in healthcare PR and know a lot of people in the pharmaceutical and biotech world and I think I could eventually get some financial support from pharma to help me with my idea. I would need to become a non-profit group to get funding but down the road that might be a possibility.

I’m excited by my idea and I think it’s the perfect solution to helping me get out of my funk and help me to get my identity back.

Preemie moms, do you know of any resources out there that I should be aware of? Is this something you think would be useful?

14 thoughts on “Starting a Group for Preemie Moms

  1. I think that’s a wonderful idea! I’d love to be a part of anything you create and I know another preemie mom who would be too. Would you be interested in a private fb group? Also have you checked out the preemie group on babycenter? It’s really good.

  2. Good idea. Hope it happens for you and other preemie mothers. Open it with/to preemie foster mothers too……. Thank you.

  3. I think it’s a wonderful idea! There was nothing more heartwarming than getting my guy together with another child with delays and having that mom to talk to. It was such a relief other than having to answer questions and explain myself. πŸ™‚

  4. That sounds amazing. I looked for preemie groups our first year home and even in big old NYC couldn’t find any groups. Any resources to support each other are great.

  5. I think this is a fantastic idea! I’m not a true preemie mom–F&C are deemed “late preterm,” which I know isn’t the same–but some form of support in the beginning would have helped a lot, I think. Especially when it came to feeding issues/reflux/the works. I look forward to seeing what you do with this. It sounds like you really are the perfect person for the job!

Please share your story

