Convertible Car Seat Search


We LOVED the infant car seat that we bought for Roo.  I did plenty of research and had an idea of what I wanted to buy but never had the chance to finalize our research before we suddenly needed it.  We found out on a Monday that she was coming home the next day.  I went with my mom that afternoon to buy what we needed at BRU including a car seat.

One of the few infant seats that works for babies starting at 4 pounds is the Chi.cco Keyfit 30.  So, we bought one of those.  It turned out to be perfect for us.  While Roo never was one to sleep in the car or if she did, we couldn’t just take her out of the car in her car seat without her waking up, but having the bucket seat with the handle to carry her in was invaluable.  I highly recommend them.

The Keyfit has a height limit of 30 inches.  We are approaching that limit and even though it might take another few months for her to reach that limit, she is showing signs of not liking her infant seat anymore.  She sits up as soon as I put her in it.  I also take her out of her seat almost ALL the time and don’t carry her in it anymore.  It’s just too heavy for me and after carrying her for so many months in it, it’s just so much easier not to carry her.

As usual, I did a ton of research.  We are limited in the kind of car seat because of the small size of our back seat.  Luckily, Chi.cco released a new convertible car seat just this year for the first time.  It’s called the Nextfit.  I’m so excited!  It’s definitely a little on the more expensive end.  However, it has one of the higher end of rear-facing limits – up to 45 pounds, which is great.  Roo will take a LONG time to reach that limit, which means she can be rear-facing for a long time.

In my research, I’ve learned that even though the government only recommends rear facing until 30 pounds or 1 year old, it is really important to rear-face for as long as possible and for at least until two years old.  Babies/toddlers heads and necks aren’t strong enough to withstand the impact of an accident.  [NOTE: do not take what I’ve written here as advice.  Please do your own research.  I may have gotten it wrong :)].

The Nextfit also has great front facing weight limits, so she will be able to use this seat for a long time.

The best part is that I bought a cute color (pretty much purple) at BRU and got to use a 20% off coupon!  They didn’t have any in the store so it is being delivered to our house later this week.  I will let you know how she likes it!

3 thoughts on “Convertible Car Seat Search

  1. I’m jealous. We love our chicco keyfit too and I’ve been researching the next carseat and am so clueless. They don’t have the next fit here yet. (Canada). And who knows when they’ll get it. It takes years for them to approve new seats.

  2. We have the same carseat and are in the same position only Jett is just a 1/4″ away from 30″ so I kind of need a new seat NOW! I’m definitely going to take a look at the next fit as I love my chicco!

Please share your story

