CIO for Naps – UPDATED


This week I’ve been attempting CIO for naps.  I let Roo cry for between 30-60 minutes and then I go in and hold her for her naps.  It’s heartbreaking.  I know that it can work though because it worked for her nighttime sleeping with hardly any stress.  She CIO for three nights and for less than 40 minutes each night, so I know it can be done!

It is so hard for me.  I hate this but I don’t know any other option.  I’m done holding her for naps.  I can’t do it anymore.  I love my little girl but I need a life too.  I’ve started to get my life back at night but I need some time to myself during the day too.

This week, while trying to ignore the monitor on mute – but I can hear her even though she’s upstairs – I’ve cleaned my kitchen, organized, etc.  Right now, the oven is heating so I can bake some apples to puree for her to eat.  She loves mashed bananas in her oatmeal and I’ve let her suck on an apple so I know she’s going to love it.

Anyway, allowing myself to vent.  I know that there are many mamas out there who don’t believe in CIO and I respect your opinions.  I tried other methods and this is what (hopefully) works for us.

I know a lot of you are also struggling with naps.  If you have any success stories, please share!! 🙂

ETA: 18 minutes in she is out like a light…for now 😉

8 thoughts on “CIO for Naps – UPDATED

  1. I believe CIO is much harder on parents. I know I beat myself up about it a lot longer than she cried. And the only success I can offer is time. Abby’s even gotten to the point now where sometimes she decides it’s bed/naptime and gives us hugs and kisses and trots off!

    Good luck to you!

  2. Yay Roo! Hope that the fussing keeps getting shorter and shorter. We aren’t ready for CIO yet but I imagine we will eventually get there for naps. I never had to do it for night time so I thought naps would be a breeze….joke’s on me, she HATES to go down in a room alone.

  3. I tried CIO last night (and 2 other times, once each episode) and it didn’t work at all. After 50 minutes of Paxlet crying and me going in there every 5 minutes to pat and shush him, he was only more worked up than when I originally put him down. My boy gets very worked up and stressed with CIO and then he is clingy the next day and in bed after that.

    I understand Paxlet might be too young for sleep training yet (he’s only just 5 months). I don’t need him to sleep the entire night through, I just need him to not need my boob to sleep. So, after CIO out last night, me and DH exchanging a few words and him looking up how to sleep train online (which I had looked at too, but guess I missunderstood it in Finnish), we’re doing a softer version of “CIO” where he can still be in bed with me, but I just won’t be giving him the boob after he eats. He may cry, but he’ll still be next to me and if he won’t settle down in bed, I’ll get up and hold him and/or rock him out of bed. It semi worked last night, although he was very tired after all the crying and I felt pitty/sadness for him, so he was sort of allowed to fall asleep at my boob and then I took it away. BUT!! at least I was able to take it away and sleep in my own position for a couple of hours at a time, which hadn’t been happening for the last week or so.

    Phew, that was long, but it is very much at the forefront of my mind right now. Glad to hear Roo went down after only 18minutes. I wish it was that easy for us too. 🙂

  4. What I think about CIO is you know when you need to go in. When theo is crying/fussing I don’t feel the need to rush to him. If he starts freaking out or stress crying I go grab him right away. How people don’t know the difference is beyond me. I do not believe in leaving your child, scared and alone and crying to the point of throwing up. I do however believe in allowing him to fuss and cry a little to self soothe himself to sleep. Haters on CIO I don’t think see the difference. Keep doing what you in your momma heart feel is right.
    One thing I think a lot of people sometimes forget that behind the baby there’s a mother. At a BF group one mom was saying how emotionally she was having a hard time and was thinking about weaning her baby. All the aides kept telling her no and that it’s best for baby to bf for as long as possible. Now I bf theo still at a year and plan to follow extended bf and hope for at least 3 years BUT it’s only best for baby is mom is healthy and happy. Same goes for sleep, yes it’s all well and good to hold your baby all day long and attachment parents (I am one for the most part) will as bed sharing is best but if the parents are snapping and emotionally breaking down, WHO is that healthy for??? If you are resenting your child for the lack of sleep you are getting how is that good for anyone? I wanted to win the award for the most attached parent and bed sharing was soo hard for me to let go, I thought I would be considered just another “normal” parent who has their baby in a separate room, it took me awhile (and an emotional breakdown) to realize I wasn’t winning any award for starting to hate my child because I was getting an hour sleep the whole night.
    Anyways this ended up being LONG, sorry. Just do what you feel is right in your heart and don’t care what other people say or think about it. They aren’t the ones getting up 20 times a night

    • Just wanted to say I really like what you said above, Melody. We all want to do what is best for our kids, but just occasionally we need to do what is best for us as mothers in order to do our job well x.

Please share your story

