Nap Training is Harder Than Nighttime Sleep Training


OMG! We have been lucky (knock-on-wood) with nighttime training. I figured out that if we put her in her bed and she falls asleep before 7pm, she falls asleep within 10-15 minutes! We will keep this formula until we need to readjust. I was even able to go out with friends last night for the first time ever! MH stayed home with Roo.

But nap training is different. She fights her naps. Even before we tried to have her nap in her crib she would fight them. It was almost as if she didn’t want to miss out on anything. Ha! She’s missing our in mommy taking a nap 😉

In all seriousness. It is harder to nap train than I thought. She cries and cries and fights it like it is nobodies business.

She naps best in my arms.

Any ideas?! Was this your same experience? Good night sleeper and bad napped?!

7 thoughts on “Nap Training is Harder Than Nighttime Sleep Training

  1. Ugh. This is us too. R is a champion night sleeper….naps, not at all! We FIGHT for a nap and if by some act of god she falls asleep it is 30 minutes exactly and that’s it. If you figure it out let me know!

  2. We’re having the same issue. Sometimes he goes down easy, sometimes not, sometimes he’ll sleep for hours, sometimes minutes. It’s still a week into training, so we’ll just keep doing what we’ll doing, and see if he’ll adjust. i don’t really have any advice, just in the trenches with you. Let us know if anything changes!

  3. Timothy was always a good night sleeper and naps… catnaps here and there, 20-30 minutes each, usually he would just fall asleep in his swing, or in the playgym, or wherever – or would cry until I let him nap on me. It changed somewhere around 4 months old – but I had to watch him closely for signs that he’s ready – before gets too tired, or he won’t be able to fall asleep. Even today, at 11 months, it is still the case – if I put him in the crib too tired, he might not be able to fall asleep. At times I even take him out of his crib, let him play or read him a book for 5-15 minutes, and then try and put him down for a nap again.

  4. Sorry you are having trouble with this! Once we sleep trained (8 months) it all went pretty easy so I don’t have any insight…except have you put toys in the crib? Our twins often don’t nap right away but they are fine to play with toys for a while until they do fall asleep.
    Also, so great you were able to get out with friends…that is HUGE!

  5. Oh I hear ya!!! That was theo. all I can say it it will get better. It did for us anyway. I just kept trying. I would let him fuss for 10mins and if he didn’t go to sleep I would get him and try again I half an hour. And so on and so on. I found I would put him down for a nap even if he didn’t seem tired after 3-4 hours from when he woke up. He usually goes to sleep right away.
    He fought it today so I got him up and we played and had a snack and then tried again and then he slept for 1.5 hours.
    Keep at it!!!!! The sleep is soo worth it eh?? I am soo happy I switched him to his crib and getting nap under control was amazing too.

  6. Molly is a horrible napper right now. She takes forever to go to sleep (I nurse her) and will only stay out for 45 min to an hour! Painful. But she’s a decent night sleeper, waking once if that. I chalk it up to development at this age (she’ll be 6 months in a week). So much going on to be awake for!

Please share your story

