Sleep Training Night Two


Success! She did it again.

Last night she slept in her own bed in her own room again! It took a little longer to settle down but she did it. She has more spit ups but I think it was because we gave her a little oatmeal last night for the first time, which was so cute – more on that later.

MH and I also had a pact that we would not go in to get her unless she cried in the middle of the night for more than 5-10 minutes. And she never did until 5am this morning!!

What?!

How did that happen?! My boobs were so full and leaking.

If she continues to sleep this way what do I do? Do you pump at night? Or do I just let it go and she weans at night and my boobs adjust? I can’t imagine that she will continue to sleep that long every night but the day will come one day and I’m curious how to handle it. Thanks in advance!!

We will see how well night three goes 🙂

4 thoughts on “Sleep Training Night Two

  1. Yay! Great job! I have found that my milk has adjusted to her sleeping through the night and we’ve had no issues supply wise. Buuuut, because I am paranoid about losing my supply I pump before I go to bed to keep it up. I freeze what I pump, I figure if she ever increases her needs or I find my supply is lacking I will then have some frozen milk to get her by until my body catches up.

  2. I think you can just let your body adjust to her needs, which will probably happen in a day or two. But if you want to pump, go for it. I don’t think you need to, though (imagine the days before pumps, you would have just been full for a few mornings and then it would go away).

  3. We are at almost the exact same phase… Big cot, night four! Unfortunately coinciding with teething….but not going too badly.

    I had big issues with oversupply when he started sleeping through. Try pumping off just enough for comfort from each breast. I didn’t worry at night, I just waited til my boobs woke me, got up and pumped, usually more one side than the other in case he woke & wanted a feed. If you can put up with a little bit of discomfort your supply quickly adjusts, and if she needs more at a later date it will go back up too…jman’s started waking for night feeds after two months of sleeping through and my supply has increased quite quickly in response. (as an aside, if the feeds drop quickly with solids you can sometimes get your period back… If you wish to avoid that, pump away!)

  4. I pump before I got to bed, freeze it and am usually pretty full when he wakes up in the morning. If he can’t drain me I just pump again in the morning.
    That’s exciting that she’s sleeping so well!! You and she will have days that she wakes up more but she will just get better and better. Enjoy to full nights sleep!!!

Please share your story

