Proud of My Big Girl – Sleep Training Night One


Last night on a whim, we decided to have Roo sleep in her own room in her own crib.  I’ve been spending time with her in her room and putting her in her crib to play a couple of times a day for the past two or so weeks.  Last night, I told MH, let’s just do it and see what happens.  It might be a long night but let’s try!  So we did.

We did our usual routine of getting ready for bed, snuggles and books followed by a bottle and then nursing.  After she was done nursing when she was slightly sleepy but not asleep, I put her in her crib turned on the sleep sheep and her Jewel lullaby CD and left the room.  It was 7:30pm.  She cried and fussed for a total of 20 minutes.  I went in once at five minutes and told her that I loved her and it was time to go to sleep.  After that first 20 minutes, she stopped crying and started to chit-chat with herself and roll around in her crib.  By 8:30pm, she was asleep.  She slept until 1:30am.  I. Was. Shocked.  I thought it was going to be a long night of crying on both of our parts.  But she did it!

AND, at 1:30am, I went in to nurse her and put her back in her bed.  She went back to sleep almost immediately!  She woke up about 30 minutes later but got herself back to sleep again easily.

At 5am, when she woke up, I probably should have left her but I went and got her and brought her to bed with me for more snuggles and sleep.

Overall, our first night of “sleep training” was a lot easier than I anticipated and I wonder what the hell I was thinking waiting so long 😉

I’m so proud of her for sleeping in her big girl bed by herself.  Now, we need to figure out how to get her to nap in her crib too!  That might be a while.

Mommies, how did you get your little one to nap on their own?  Should I wait until she’s completely comfortable sleeping in her bed at night before pushing her to nap or do it all at once?

5 thoughts on “Proud of My Big Girl – Sleep Training Night One

  1. Awesome job!!! I think moving R out of our room was harder on me than her too. She is a nighttime pro in her crib, but I haven’t done the naps yet so I have no advice….I’ll follow to see how you do it :).

  2. Hmmm… Timothy slept in his own crib – at night – pretty much since birth, but naps were a challenge, too.

    I think I just set a routine – we walk upstairs, close the blinds together, then I put him in his crib and leave. I think that was pretty much it – he was probably ready…

    Yes, that’s it. I tried it a few times and he wasn’t too happy and I didn’t see the point of going upstairs cause he slept for like 20 minutes at a time. Once his naps got longer – that’s when I tried again and it just worked…

    Try it – who knows? It just might work!

Please share your story

