Mind-Numbing


Am I a bad mommy to think that being at home with my baby is mind-numbing?  Being a stay-at-home-mommy is tough and I can’t wait until I start to work again – which I’m not sure when will be but I’m starting to get an itch for it already.

I feel awful but I live for her naps – we play, read books, sing songs and talk to get from one nap to the next.  During her naps I watch TV and do things for myself but since she only naps on me, I’m limited to what I can do.

Clearly, I’m not a fan of the infant/baby stage.  I can’t wait until she’s a toddler and old enough to communicate and do more with interactively.  I love and appreciate the smiles, coos and kisses that Roo gives to me but I think I’ll get more pleasure being with her as she gets older.

I realize that part of my issue might be because we are limited in where we go.  Because she was premature, we have to avoid crowded public spaces to ensure she doesn’t get sick and so we spend most of our time at home.  Inside.  By ourselves.  Being at home with her is mind-numbingly boring and I don’t like it.

Judge away.  I’m ok with it.

Anyone else feel this way or am I just nuts?!

6 thoughts on “Mind-Numbing

  1. Our babies were also preemies but we go out every day, usually to coffee shops and stuff. On the other hand, they basically didn’t spend any time in the NICU (Banana did but for non-reasons, like, oh she spit up, we have to monitor her for 48 hours.. arrggg) and we are essentially treating them like regular infants. Maybe you could go on a walk, just to get outside and do something? Being inside with babies all day is not just boring, I start getting super agitated. I just have to leave the house and DO something every day!

  2. I have to go out or I go insane. Baby caring IS boring on many levels and an outing a day helps IMMENSELY with the mind numbing…ness of it all =) You’re not alone!

  3. I go somewhere every day. Even if we just go for a walk by ourselves, or run through the Star.bucks drive through in the afternoon on a rainy day. It keeps my spirits up especially on days when hubby works late. Babies can be boring. I won’t judge you for needing a little social interaction.

  4. Ohhhh believe me there are some days like I wonder how I will stay home forever (I’m sure I’ll go back to school and get a grown up job eventually). Sometimes I think my brain is going to mush because all I do is baby talk all day. But I know it’s what I want to do, I want to be there for theo. it does not however make you a bad mom because you want to go back to work. My older sister said working makes her a better mom. She said she was happier and looked forward to coming home each day to see my niece. She’s off on may leave again with my nephew but will be going back to work again after her year.
    Enjoy your time with roo and know that in the future there will be days when you wish you could just stay at home with her, when you will be sad your not seeing some of her firsts. But if working truly makes you happy then go and be at peace with that and when you come home to her face enjoy being there with her. Don’t beat yourself up about what you should and shouldn’t be feeling as a mommy. Youre a great mom don’t ever think otherwise.

  5. Have you ever considered about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is important and everything. However think about if you added some great visuals
    or videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and
    clips, this website could undeniably be one of the most
    beneficial in its niche. Good blog!

Please share your story

