A Love Letter to Roo: Six Months


Dear Baby Roo,

I can hardly believe that my baby girl is already six months old. You have loved for half of one year. So much has changed in that year.

You were 3 pounds 14 ounces and 16 inches long when you entered the world. At your six month appointment, you weighed 13 pounds 6 ounces and you are 24.5 inches long. Wow!!

When you were first born, you fit right in the crook of my arm. Now, your little legs don’t fit into my body when you nurse. You’re getting to be such a big baby!

I love how you have snuggled into me from day one. Six months later it is still the best feeling in the world. There is nothing like it!!

You’re smiles are contagious and you laugh more and more everyday! It’s had not to fall more in love with you each moment.

New this month are kisses. You’ve started to kiss me back on my cheek and I love it. Your kissing is so enthusiastic with a wide open mouth! You even have started to give your grandma kisses!!

Everyday is filled with more and more chatter from you. You love to talk to your “friends” and I’m sure they are talking back to you.

You love to taste everything you can get your hands on including any book that we are reading. After I read the page, you like to stick out your tongue and taste it! It’s cute because then you help me turn the page.

The doctor says that in a few weeks we can start you on solid food. I think we might wait until you are good and ready. I’m prepared though! I already bought you a couple of spoons and some organic oatmeal to try. I also bought you a sippy cup with a straw since she said that you start to have little sips of water too. I feel like this is a really big step in life and I’m excited!! I can’t wait to make food for my baby girl.

We also are going to start sleep training you. I’m reading the book, No Cry Sleep Solution. We will see if it works. We set the video monitor in your room up and I’m mentally getting ready! Your adjusted age is almost five months old (sorry this letter is late) and I think it will be good for you and for me to have you sleep on your own. I think you are ready too. You have a good routine down and your schedule is pretty set! It might take a whole but I know we can do it.

I’m so proud of you baby Roo!!

I love you so much and I can’t wait to see what the next few weeks bring to us πŸ™‚

Love always,
Mama

20130102-215738.jpg

One thought on “A Love Letter to Roo: Six Months

Please share your story

