I Hope I’m Not Jinxing It…


One of the big topics in my mommy group is sleep – mainly how hard it is to get their baby to sleep through the night for more than 3-4 hours in a row. Also, how hard sleep training is for them as moms.

I’m often hesitant to say anything out loud but the truth is that Roo is a champ when it comes to sleeping. Ever since she’s been sleeping in the nap nanny, she is getting a full night of sleep – which is between 6-8 consecutive hours for her age.

As a premature baby, I’m not encouraged to sleep train until she’s between 4-6 months adjusted age because she still needs to eat. But at the rate we are going it won’t matter because she’s doing so well just in her own.

Even before the nap nanny though she was a pretty good sleeper giving us 4-5 hour stretches. I think it helps that she gets a formula supplementation that makes her a little more satisfied and tides her over longer. She also is the champion cluster nurser in the evening.

The only drawback is that my husband is still worried about letting her sleep alone so one of – usually me – has to stay with her even though she’s safely in the nap nanny. It sucks because that means going up to the bedroom at 7:30pm. But at least she is getting a really good night sleep. The past couple few nights, she has gone to sleep at 7:30 pr 8 and not woken to eat until 4 or 5am. It’s amazing!!

I will take it – even if this is just a phase! We have had so many other challenges with her that this is one sliver of goodness that I will gladly take!

I’m worries though that when the time comes to transitioning to her own room, it will be a challenge. We’ll see!

How has your baby exceeded your expectations and made you extra proud? Sleeping, eating, sitting up?

7 thoughts on “I Hope I’m Not Jinxing It…

  1. I hope you didn’t jinx it, too! One time I wrote on facebook how I got 3 hours of sleep in a row and that didn’t happen again for weeks 😦 I’m now afraid to publicly celebrate any consecutive sleep hahaha

  2. I’m so glad things are going well! Even if you jinx it and there is a temporary setback, it will just be a phase. I was really, really worried about moving Sylvia into her own room, but it went very smoothly! I hope the same goes for Roo when it is time!

  3. I’m jealous of all the continual sleep you’re getting. πŸ™‚
    On a bragging note, my boy has been able to hold his head up on his own and quite steadily for some time, he’s now 9 weeks.

  4. Some babies just are natural sleepers! Mine is so good that I always worry how BAD the next one will probably be… to balance things off πŸ™‚

    On staying in the same room with the sleeping baby: we got a video monitor to keep and eye; other than that – we figured that when we are asleep, we aren’t looking after him anyway – so there is no need to look after him before we go to bed. But I see how having had the IF complications makes you extra cautious.

    Enjoy the sleeping!

  5. G slept through the night, 12-13 hours, at three months (1.5adj). It was amazing. I thought for sure we had a champion sleeper as it lasted around three months. All the sudden, overnight, he stopped and hasn’t slept through in three weeks. Now he’s up every 2.5-3 hours to eat. I’ve tried everything..clustering, solids, fatty solids before bed. No dice. Maybe it was because I talked about it..who knows. I hope that doesn’t happen with Roo and I hope our guy switches back soon!

  6. Oh my gosh, I am extra proud of my fabulous babies…but not in the area of sleep. I am sooooooooo jealous of you! We get the twins down by 6:30ish (they go to bed pretty easily…grateful for that), and then we wake them 10ish to dream feed. And then they are both usually up 1 or 2 am, and up for the day between 4 and 6 am. They are 7 months old…it shouldn’t be like this, right? If I had a mom’s group this is what I’d be talking about πŸ™‚ (although when my husband is here he does the brunt of the night shift, so I really shouldn’t complain…)

Please share your story

