A Late Love Letter to Roo: Three Months


My darling Roo,

Every day you are more and more the love of my life.  Don’t tell your daddy!

Since you hit three months old, you are socially smiling which just lights up my life.  To see your eyes light up and your mouth widen in a big smile when I come into your line of vision raises feelings inside of me that I never have felt before.  The joy is indescribable.  I love you so much!

The last month was tough.  You were “diagnosed” with colic.  You like to scream and carry on every night starting around 7:30 or 8pm and don’t stop.  This letter is a little late so you’ve started to get better but oh my goodness it is hard for me to listen to you cry and have no way to comfort you.  A large part of your colic is caused by your still immature gastrointestinal system.  I hope it grows up soon so it stops giving your problems.

The biggest change in you this month is that you are no longer like a little preemie.  You are truly a newborn baby.  I’m so happy!  You’re growing up!

We started going to our once a week mommies group and it has been a life saver for me.  It’s also been good for you to get out of the house and interact with other babies.  It’s hard (translation, Mommy is a little jealous) to see where you should be developmentally at 3 months old but its also exciting to see where you will be soon!  It gives me hope that you are going to grow up and out of some of these things you are “suffering” from as a result of being a preemie.

I’ve been reading a lot of books to you.  You love this one that squeaks.  You also love music!  So, we listen to a lot of music – all different kinds.  One of these days I will buy you the Baby Einstein music CDs.  I also can’t wait until you grow up a little more so we can go to a music class together!

It has gotten easier in some ways and harder in others now that you are getting older.  You sleep a lot less, so I’m not able to do as much as I was able to on the computer.  I love to entertain you but it can be hard to keep you entertained constantly.  You used to scream when we put you down but you are getting better on your own, which is helpful in many ways.  You can entertain yourself for 5-10 minutes without crying which is nice.  It will be very helpful when your grandparents leave in a couple of weeks.  I love that you are more alert and have better contact with us.  It’s pretty nice to know that we can make you happy too 🙂

I bought you a new bouncer from Baby B.jorn and it is AWESOME!  You love the toy bar that I got with it.  I love to watch your face as you concentrate hard to spin the toys deliberately.  Your hands aren’t just flailing but they are moving with purpose and that is a lot of fun to see!  You are growing up baby girl!

We’re starting to think about the holidays.  You only have ONE first Thanksgiving and Christmas and I’m excited for them!  You are going to be super spoiled by the amount of gifts you are going to get.  We need to restrain ourselves because you will only be six months old!!

I love you, Roo!

Your Mama

2 thoughts on “A Late Love Letter to Roo: Three Months

  1. So cute! I can’t wait until our babies are smiling socially 🙂 BTW have you heard of “The Happiest Baby on the Block” ? It talks about how to soothe colicky babies. It’s awesome. We already use some of these things on our fussy little boy, who I guess wouldn’t technically have colic but he definitely gets upset at the slightest offense and it takes some doing to get him to calm down.

  2. aww i am so happy to read this. its true that as they get older things get easier and harder. roo is such a big girl and is growing up so fast, she will get to where those other babies are and quickly surpass them, she seems like a little smartie pants!!!
    love reading your updates, hope youre well!
    much love, melody and theo

Please share your story

