A Love Letter to Roo: Two Months


Dear Baby Roo,

Yesterday was your two month birthday.  I can’t believe that two months ago you came into our lives.  You entered the world kicking and screaming and you continue to do so!

The last month has been filled with so much change.  You are more alert than ever before – tracking each of us as we come into your periphery and move away.  We love knowing that you are aware of who we are and that we mean something to you.  We started putting you on your play mat.  You love the owl that hangs from above and we’re teaching you how to hit it with your own hands to get the rattle to go.  One of your favorite things to play with is a stuffed fish that I named Blue.  Each time we put Blue next to you, your eyes light up and you try to reach for him.  I love it!  I really hope that you have a lovey as I grew up with one.  Whether it is Blue or some other stuffed animal, I can’t wait for you to find something that comforts you.

You love to go on long walks with your Grand.  He takes you almost every day out in your stroller throughout our neighborhood.  He also stays up late into the night snuggling with you so that I can get some sleep.  He, you and I spend good quality time while I’m nursing you in the middle of the night.  I’m so glad that you two are developing your own special relationship.  I’m definitely a Daddy’s girl and so I’m so happy that you will know him and come to love him like I do.

You and your daddy are getting to know each other too.  Your eyes light up when he comes home from work.  I love listening to him talk to you when you cuddle on the couch together in the evenings.  He loves to read you books and tell you all about things.  You listen so intently and stare at him with big eyes.  I can’t wait to see the two of you when you grow bigger!

You and your grandma are also developing a special bond.  She can calm you like no one else (except for me).  The two of you can spend hours snuggling together on the couch.  She loves to take photos of you to share with her friends.  We all think you are pretty darn cute!  She can’t wait to take you and your cousin Isabel to Disneyland when you are both five years old!

This month also gave you a chance to meet your cousin for the first time.  It was so cute.  Cousin Isabel is 4 months older and twice as big as you are and it is so cute!  Isabel was so excited to see you!  She grabbed your hand and scooted towards you on the blanket.  As soon as she got close enough, she stuffed your hand into her mouth with a big grin!  You were surprised and cried and Isabel was sad she couldn’t show her love for you anymore.  I can’t wait for the two of you to play together.

Today was your two month check up with the pediatrician.  We learned that you are 9 pounds, 5 ounces.  You have grown so much!  In fact, the doctor says that we are over feeding you.  You keep wanting to eat and eat.  I guess because you are a preemie, you are programmed to just keep eating if we offer it to you.  So, we need to start limiting your feeding sessions to 30 minutes at a time.  It’s going to be hard because you are going to cry.  You’ll have to learn to comfort yourself with a pacifier (hah!) or with your thumb.  I think you’ll be ok.  So, no more snacking at mama’s breast!  The good news is that you are doing really well and I can’t believe that you were a tiny 3 pounds, 14 ounces when you were born two months ago!  You and I have succeeded in feeding you well, baby!

The sad news is that you have hemangioma on your body.  There are six small ones and the pediatrician has referred us to a dermatologist to see what, if anything, needs to be done.  I need to learn more about them and will at the dermatologist.  We go on September 6 to learn more.  I’m not too worried as long as she can help you!  You also have a belly button hernia that might need to be fixed if it hasn’t resolved itself by the time you are in kindergarten.  It doesn’t bother you right now though!

You are the cutest, sweetest baby!  I, and your papa, love you so very much!  We can’t wait to see how you grow and change developmentally in the next month!

Love,

Your Mama

7 thoughts on “A Love Letter to Roo: Two Months

  1. Just wantedto let you know before you go to the doctor….be very careful doing anything about the hemangioma’s too early. My son had them and they were all gone by the time he was a year old on their own. We didn’t do anything.

    Have any questions, let me know.

    • I want to find out why more are developing more than on how to treat/remove them. I’d rather wait to see what happens over the next few months in hopes they go away on their own. I’ll definitely let you know if I have questions. Thanks 🙂

  2. I was unaware you could over feed a baby?? I was told by all my dr and my mom is a pediatric nurse and she told me if a baby if hungry to feed them. That it’s impossible to over feed them. (apparently that’s old school teaching) anyways I am very wary of that! Theo went from 6.4 to 22lbs now in 6 months and he’s perfectly healthy. Breastfed babies tend to bulk up in those first 6 months and then slow down in the next 6.
    Soo please please don’t limit her milk. If little roo is hungry she’s hungry 😦 That makes me sad that a dr would ever say that! Unless she is contantly spitting up then it’s not over feeding.
    Sorry for that rant, just keep doing what you are doing. You know her better than any dr ever will!!

    • I definitely agree that I don’t want to limit her access to nursing. It breaks my heart when she cries because she is hungry so I just give in. I read that the baby will drink/eat until she is full and then spits up the milk that she doesn’t need. I don’t know…I’m going to reach out to my lactation consultant and see what she thinks. Roo definitely has some spitting up issues, which is why the dr said that she is probably being overfed. What does your mom say about spitting up?!

  3. Ya theo spits up too. Sometimes if I nurse him and then he does acrobatics lol. My mom said the same thing. If she is spitting up a ton (most babies spit up that’s pretty normal) then its most likely over feeding. She also said, that you only ever limit feeds if the baby has a heart condition or kidney problems. Other than then let them decide. I know when I have been pushing the boob on theo, like if he’s being super fussy and we are both tired I’ll try and push him into nursing cause he tends to fall asleep, but he also will then spit up.
    Just today theo spit up all over my jeans, twice and he got the couch a couple of times, it’s never more than a couple teaspoons and big ones are maybe a couple tablespoons.
    I would def talk to a lactation consultant since that’s their job and she will be able to give you excellent information about roo and feeding.
    You are doing great and must have nice fatty milk like me, as roo is getting large and in charge like my boy!! Fat babies are the best!!! I say just feed her when she wants it and give her the pacifier if you know for sure she isn’t hungry.

Please share your story

