Update on Supply Issues


It’s been a little more than a week when I talked about my supply issue concerns, maybe longer but my mind is so foggy these days! Things are getting better – kind of – and I thought I’d share what has been working for me.

First, I started to take regularly Fenugreek, which has helped some. I thought that my supply would go way up but it hasn’t. However, I think it has helped my body maintain its supply.

I also started breast feeding more every day. I pump/nurse every three hours and in the past I was pumping while Roo got her bottle. Lately, we’ve been giving her a small bottle with my pumped milk fortified with formula and then I’ll nurse her, and she gets the most of her nourishment from nursing. I’ve been doing this for most of her feed sessions. The longer nursing sessions has helped to increase my supply as it makes as much as she is demanding. The only downside is that she can nurse for 45 minutes, which is tough on my ni.p.ples.

Finally, I’ve noticed that when I skip a pump session and allow someone to give her a whole bottle feed and I sleep. The solid sleep of four hours rewards me with a really good milk result πŸ™‚

Someone suggested oatmeal and I’ve been trying to eat a bowl every morning! It might also be contributing!!

Thanks for the help and advice!!

Xo,
Michelle

4 thoughts on “Update on Supply Issues

  1. I’ve also heard about the cookies though I haven’t tried them yet. Who doesn’t need an excuse to eat as many cookies as you want?!

    As far as the nips go, ask your dr to prescribe some triple nip.p.le cream, also called Neumann’s cream, for you. You put just a little on each side after nursing and pumping. It works wonders. Regular stuff from lasinoh or wherever doesn’t come close to this stuff. It’s safe for Roo and will make a world of difference for you. And it lasts for ever.

    Glad to hear things are better! I have friends who pump exclusively by choice and I’m with you, I don’t know how they do it. The only way for me to maintain or increase supply is to put the baby on. My body just doesn’t respond to the pump as well. At least the left doesn’t. Hooray for finding things that work!

  2. Here’s the recipe a friend sent me. She said she always made a double batch and froze half:

    Lactation Cookies

    1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
    1 3/4 c. oats
    1 tsp baking soda
    1 tsp salt
    3/4 c. almond butter or peanut butter
    1/2 c. butter, softened
    1 c. flax
    3 T brewer’s yeast
    1/3 c. water
    1 tsp cinnamon
    1/2 c. sugar
    1/2 c. brown sugar
    2 tsp vanilla
    2 large eggs
    2 c. (12oz) chocolate chips
    1 c. chopped nuts of your choice

    Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit

    Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt in a bowl.
    In a large bowl, beat almond butter, butter, sugar, brown sugar, vanilla, brewer’s yeast, flax and water until creamy.
    Mix in eggs.
    Gradually beat in flour mixture.
    Mix in nuts and chocolate chips.
    Add oats slowly, mixing along the way.

    Place balls of dough onto greased baking sheets or baking stones.
    Press down each ball lightly with a fork.
    Bake 12 minutes.

    You’ll have to let me know if they are any good. I feel like my supply is finally established so I haven’t made them yet but like I said, everyone can use an excuse to eat cookies!

Please share your story

