Is it possible?


Is it possible that even with my little one nursing every 2-3 hours that my period has already come back? Or, is it just some delayed post-partum bleeding?

If it is my period – wow! That was fast. I guess I need to think about what kind of birth control I want to use. I’m definitely not interested in another Roo anytime soon. I don’t want to go back on chemical birth control so I’ll have to figure out how to chart while breast feeding.

With frequent and erratic wake up times, temping is out of the question so I’ll have to figure out CM charting. But, I wonder how accurate it is and if by itself is a good way to prevent pregnancy.

Any thoughts from you all? You always come through with awesome advice!

ETA: by the way, after all we went through to get pregnant with Roo, I feel a little silly thinking about birth control but I’m not sure I can handle another one emotionally or physically at this point. Also, it is my understanding that after a preemie we need to wait at least 18 months before trying again to lower the risk of another preemie.

5 thoughts on “Is it possible?

  1. Oooh, that’s a bummer. One would hope it would have stayed away longer! A friend of mine is using an IUD and she really likes it, but I’m not keen on having something inside of me. As much as I dislike them, we’re planning on condoms until it’s time for #2. And after #2?? Snip, snip, snip!

  2. Every body is different and sometimes it seems like finally having your body get with program it STAYS enthousiatically with the program even if you think the program needs changing. Other bodies do exactly the opposite. Talk to your doc!

  3. So I have heard that some people get a second post-partum bleed at 6 weeks. That is not happening to me, and it totally could be your period. Coincidentally I just got fitted for a diaphram today. I am going to try it, but honestly, it seems like a little bit of a PITA. I also like the idea of staying away from hormones but am not sure what I will do.

  4. I went with the Mirena IUD and haven’t had any issues so far. Bonus..it works instantly! I felt the same way. Highly skeptical we could get pregnant naturally but not taking any chances. Plus, with three embryos on ice, I’m not sure I’d want to get pregs naturally. I don’t know what we’d do with them.

  5. I got my period 3 months PP. The kicker? I got it the day AFTER I discussed when to expect it with my OB. I was so mad!

    She told me that you get your period when you start weening or if your supply goes down by 50%. I noticed a significant supply decrease, so I’m sure that’s why I got mine. I just wasn’t ready for it.

    I’m not even in the mood to do much more than cuddle with Hubby right now. The first couple months with Baby G were horrible for me and I don’t want to go through that again (yet anyway)! It’ll be con.doms for us until we TTC again becuase I can’t be trusted to remember a pill every day right now and I don’t really want an IUD.

Please share your story

