Supply Issues


Even though I’m pumping every three hours, I worry about my supply. Roo currently takes about 90mls of milk plus fortifier at each feeding. Three times a day, we give her 30mls followed by my br.east. She nurses for about 20 minutes and then I pump to see how much she got and to empty the opposite breast.

It is a rigorous schedule. I’m exhausted and it is adding to my post-partum anxiety. Not news to anyone who’s been reading lately!

I’ve been able to meet her needs but barely. It worries me that I won’t be able to keep up with her increased feeding needs. My lactation consultant doesn’t seem worried but I am. I saw her nearly two weeks ago and I should go back. Like everything else, going to see the LC costs money and may oral not be covered by insurance (which I have to submit for on my own-like I have the time).

I’ve been taking Fenugreek, which is supposed to help but I don’t know if it really is helping. I suppose I could increase my dosage from one pill twice a day to two pills but I’m just not sure. If you are taking Fenugreek, what dosage do you take?

Are there other tricks to increase your supply when you are primarily pumping that I should know about?

Xo,
Michelle

4 thoughts on “Supply Issues

  1. BM is typically supply / demand so as her demand increases, your supply should follow. Sometimes it doesn’t and that’s the way of the world, but I’m hopeful yours will especially since you are putting her to breast vs exclusively pumping.

    Some things to try:
    – Mother’s Milk Tea
    – Oatmeal
    – Beer (seriously – not light beer but a nice stout or lager)
    – Breast compressions while pumping (you can do it while nursing, too, but if she is still tentative at the breast and / or with eating, I wouldn’t as it can make for heavy flow)

    Those are what worked for me but in the end I couldn’t keep up and feed two and Colton had to go on a specialized formula for his delayed gastric emptying.

  2. Sorry you are having to deal with this! I’ve had major supply issues and the things that have helped…or that I’ve done anyway…not positive they helped…are fenugreek 5 pills three times a day, something called mothers milk 3 dropper fulls four times a day, a Guiness most evenings (right after nursing so my body has time to process it before babies eat again and sleep…however you can get more sleep. Also my pediatrician says even if you can’t breast feed 100% your baby still gets so much benefit from what you can do. Good luck!

  3. You are probably fine but I get the anxiety. The LC’s here said to take fenugreek and blessed thistle three pills three times a day. You should smell like maple syrup-no joke-then you know you are taking enough. Also, pumping is never a good way to tell how much she is getting. Sje is much more efficient at getting your milk than the pump and you will produce different amounts at different times of day. There are times I pump 4ozs and times when I only get 1.5. The only true way to know what she is getting is to rent a Medela baby weighs scale like the one you used in the nicu. I rented for for $75/mo from a breast feeding store. I’m on my second month with it and it’s been such a relief to have. I might even feel comfortable giving it up after this month..yay! I’m sure you are following dr instructions but have you considered putting her to breast first and seeing if she’s able to take the whole feeding? A scale would definitely help you to know exact numbers and help you feel better about your supply concerns. It did me anyway. Also, I’ve seen results with a bowl of oatmeal in the morning. I have a friend with twins who swears by Go Lacta pills. They are a combo of fenugreek, blessed thistle, and something else. As another six week early mom of a preemie, it gets easier..I promise!!!

Please share your story

