Day 7 Hospital Bed Rest: One Week!


Our first goal was to make it 24 hours.  Check!  Our second goal was to make it to one week!  Today, I have officially been in the hospital on bed rest for seven days.  One. Whole. Week.  I didn’t think we’d make it this far but we have and I’m so happy!

It’s been emotional and it will continue to be but I’m trying to keep it together by reminding myself that there is no better place to be than here.  We are receiving amazing care.  The doctors and nurses are all outstanding.  Seriously, if someone needed a recommendation for high risk pregnancy, I’d send them here without hesitation.

Yesterday afternoon I went to the antepartum mom group.  It was anticlimactic.  There was only one other mom there and I totally couldn’t relate to her – I tried but she and I came from such different backgrounds and it was just very clear.  Plus, she dominated the conversation even when the moderator tried to steer the conversation to a group topic…it was hard.  However, the good that came out of the group is that the moderator also takes moms on the NICU tour.  So, I got to see the NICU, where Roo is very likely to end up during her first days/weeks of life.

The tour helped me feel so much better.  I think I was imaging a scary place and it was in fact the opposite.  It is on the floor above the one I’m currently on and has these big windows so each of the five nurseries (up to 30 babies at one time) is bright and light.  Not scary at all.  There were many isolettes/incubators and many tiny, tiny sweet babies!  The environment was a calm, peaceful and happy place.  Not scary, dark and sick as I imagined.  I was surprised to not see very many parents there.  Most of the babies were being tended to by nurses.  The one nurse that stuck out was this huge (cute) guy nurse.  The idea of him taking care of my sweet Roo brought tears to my eyes.  I love that a big, burly guy is one of the staff!

Along one wall was a board covered with photos and letters from families whose babies had been in the NICU.  EVERY single photo showed a baby or a child who I never would have known was a premature baby.  They all seem to be thriving and one would never know.  It lightens my heart and eases my mind.  Our little Roo will be just fine!  I also am comforted by the fact that many of these babies were born weeks earlier than Roo will be born and they are happy and healthy little girls and boys!!

Today has been calm.  I’m tired so I’ll stop now, plus writing on my computer is awkward.  I just wanted to share an update and get some of this off my chest and onto “paper.”

Tomorrow morning I’m getting a pre-natal massage in my room!  I’m so excited.

Thank you for your positive wishes, prayers and overall support!

xo,

Michelle

2 thoughts on “Day 7 Hospital Bed Rest: One Week!

  1. That wall sounds so great, I’m glad that put those photos up there. It would be so comforting to me, too. 🙂 And yay! Prenatal massage! Enjoy!!!

  2. You sound like you’re in a good place mentally and literally, that’s so good. Well done on the week! Every week ‘inside’ is two weeks less NICU. You just keep incubating ! I am sure you’ll connect with other mums in the NICU and Roo is going to be fine. Stay chilled xxx

Please share your story

