(early) 29 Week Update


Hi ladies (and any gents reading),

This update is a little early and may be the last for as many days as it takes to get Internet access into our new home.  We move tomorrow!!  The Salvation Army arrives this morning to remove a sleeper sofa that we are donating (our new sofa from PB arrives on Friday)!  The movers arrive tomorrow morning between 9-9:30am.  Wish me luck as I told MH to go to work as I’d rather have him at home after Roo arrives than to help with the move.  A friend is supposed to help me tomorrow once we get to the new house but I’m not 100% sure she can – it’ll be OK just exhausting!  We got the keys to the house over the weekend and have gone over several times with our little car loaded up!

We made a final decision on which room will be Roo’s nursery (the largest of the three bedrooms) and the one just down the hall from our bedroom – we’ll be able to hear her and get to her quickly as we stumble sleepily to get her 😉  We do need to paint her new room because it is currently an unattractive green color – we’re thinking either a pale yellow, cream or pale green.  We need to get some samples and see which we like best.

I also pulled the trigger on Roo’s nursery furniture.  We went with the K.endall Low Profile Crib and the C.atalina extra wide dresser from PBK.  We’ll get the matching bookshelf at a later date.  Once we decide on the room color, we’ll choose the glider fabric and go with the PBK glider as well.  I just needed to be done with it and I was looking at too many options.  Since I’ve been able to see the PBK items or at least similar things, I went with it.  We ordered the white pieces.  I also went ahead and ordered the converter for the crib so we don’t have to worry about it not being available when we’re ready to move her into the toddler bed.  It seems so far away but from I understand she’s going to grow up so fast before our eyes!

As we get further along and closer and closer to the actual birth, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about my “birth plan.”  I’m sure it will change especially after our birthing class too.  I’ll write some more about it in the coming days but my largest concern is the use of any anesthesia.  I’ve had some bad reactions to it in the past and I’m worried how my body reacts to this too.  Again, I’ll write about it in the coming days.

I’ve also realized that I’ve done VERY little reading about becoming a parent.  The ONLY book that I’ve read is the Happiest Baby on the Block book.  I think I need to read some more.  Are there any breast-feeding books that you recommend?  Any other parenting books for infants that are must haves for a new parents’ bookshelf?  Thanks in advance!

So, I guess I’ll leave you with my latest stats below and I’ll be back online in a few days (hopefully) after the move is done!

How far along? 29 weeks, 4 days
Total weight gain:
22 pounds since my first OB appointment and growing
Maternity clothes? 
Yes
Stretch marks? None, knock on wood with the help of lots of lotion
Sleep: Terrible this week and I suspect through the end!  Though the last two nights have been pretty decent
Best moment this week: Not pregnancy related but getting close to moving into our new house!
Miss anything? Good sleep!!
Movement: YES – tons!
Food cravings: Nothing specific but anything sweet like fruit and candy!
Anything making you queasy or sick:  Nope – but I do continue to have at least one gaggy moment a day
Labor Signs: None
Belly Button in or out?  Almost all out
Wedding rings on or off?  On
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy and getting nervous about birth
Looking forward to: Roo’s arrival

7 thoughts on “(early) 29 Week Update

  1. Best breastfeeding book I’ve come across is “So That’s What They’re For”. It’s HILARIOUS. You seriously spend the whole time laughing, but it’s really informative and was written by somebody who’s actually been there (no disrespect to Jack Newman or Dr. Sears…lol)

  2. Yay for the new house, boo for moving. We’re exactly in the same position and moving this weekend. I can’t wait until the packing, moving and unpacking is over with!

  3. Moving while pregnat must suck big time! Good luck! Getting organised with the furniture sounds great. 🙂 Hope you catch up on sleep.

  4. Good luck with the move! Looking forward to seeing pictures of the new house & of Roo’s nursery! I love the PBK glider chair… soooo comfy & cute.

Please share your story

