27 Week Update and a Bumpdate


Well, here we are finishing the first week of the third trimester.  A few things have marked this new milestone and makes it very clear that we are rapidly approaching the end of pregnancy and entering parenthood.  Some of those “things” are pretty hilarious like when I was at the dentist this week filling out new patient paperwork and I couldn’t for the life of me remember our home address.  Since I haven’t changed my driver’s license yet, I couldn’t look there.  So, I had to call MH at work and ask him.  I seriously could not remember where we lived!  I just about died laughing having to admit that I couldn’t remember where we lived and MH made fun of me for a couple of days following.  Pregnancy brain at its best, right?!

Roo is also getting really strong.  Her kicks and punches are more and more frequent and about 100% of them can be seen from the outside.  I love it!  MH loves it.  I’m also convinced that she can feel me rubbing my belly.  She likes to stick either her head or her bum out as far as possible – making my belly look very lopsided.  I rub and caress that spot because I can feel her pushing out.  And my caresses make her push out even further.  Am I crazy?  Am I making this up?  I don’t think so but I’m not quite sure how she can feel me.  Her little body is getting so big that now I can tell that she’s on both sides of my belly button.  I used to only tell her little body was on one side but now she’s so large that even though she’s curled up, I can feel her on both sides.

I imagine her after she’s born stretching and kicking her legs about.  MH and I laugh that it’s going to take both of us to wrestle her in order to get her clothes on.  It might take both of us to dress her until we get comfortable doing it, especially if she is as active out here as she is in there 🙂

In other news, in one week today, we close on our new house!  We are starting to pack up our apartment – luckily, there’s not a lot that needs to be done since we moved from SF not that long ago – and I’m calling utility companies, etc. to get ourselves set up.  I’m so excited!  I can’t wait to get into our new house.

Here’s a bump photo taken last night (not the best photo – sorry for the bright orange sweater):

How far along? 27 weeks, 6 days
Total weight gain:
17.6 pounds since my first OB appointment – we’ll find out how much more at my appointment next Wednesday
Maternity clothes? 
Yes – I bought two more dresses (one wrap dress and a jersey dress) and another shirt from a consignment shop
Stretch marks? None, knock on wood
Sleep: Much better but I know that it might go back to being poor again soon
Best moment this week: This week’s best moment was my funny moment of forgetting my address
Miss anything? Sushi!
Movement: YES – tons!
Food cravings: Sweets
Anything making you queasy or sick:  Nope!
Labor Signs: None
Belly Button in or out?  Half is starting to poke out and other half is still flat
Wedding rings on or off?  On
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy and getting nervous about birth
Looking forward to: Roo’s birth

PS: I’m looking forward to getting this week’s Time Magazine to read the article causing a flap on attachment parenting.  I’m not sure I’m going to be a follower of attachment parenting but after reading the article I might become a fan!  I’ll share more after I read it and would love your thoughts too!

2 thoughts on “27 Week Update and a Bumpdate

  1. LOL @ not knowing your address! Ahh that’s okay though. You have a good excuse! 🙂 How cool about all the movement!! Yay! Super cuuuute bump!

Please share your story

