Already 26 weeks!


Yesterday, Roo has been with us for 26 weeks.  I don’t know where the time is flying to and I am excited that I will be in the third trimester in a jiffy.  It’s kind of crazy!

This week has been a little busy.  We are set to close on our new home on May 18 – we will take full possession three days later.  I spent a lot of the week arranging for home owners insurance, finding a moving company, etc.  It’s very exciting but also very hectic.  MH and I were able to go over to our new home yesterday afternoon and we met the current home owners.  They are a very sweet couple, who never had children but said that they are excited that a baby/child will be in the house.  The woman said that the house is made for a family with children.  I don’t know if they struggled with infertility themselves but she appeared wistful so it makes me wonder and it makes me happy that Roo will be that child in the house!

MH is also sick, so I’ve been dealing with a sick husband.  He has bronchitis, which our doctor is concerned could turn into something worse.  MH did get his whooping-cough vaccination a couple of weeks ago but because whooping cough is a pervasive problem in WA state right now, the doctor took a more aggressive approach to treatment than if I were not pregnant.  When MH is not feeling well, he is very cranky and so has jumped onto any tiny argument this week.  I’m trying to be patient but between he not feeling well and my hormones in overdrive, it’s been a rough week with lots of tiny arguments.  I know things will be better when MH feels better – hopefully sooner than later.

I feel like a bargain shopper this week.  I came home with an UppaBaby Cruz stroller that I’m in love with and saved $$ on to buy.  I got the bouncer that I wanted for just $15 – I found the exact one that I wanted after I wrote my previous blog entry and picked it up yesterday!  I also picked up the baby bathtub that I wanted and was recommended by several mommy friends for just $10.  It is sold new for more than $40.  I feel great about my purchases!  I also found the papasan swing that I want for just $50 that is being held for me until after we move – how nice is that woman to hold it for me!

It is clear that I am now feeling comfortable in the knowledge that Roo is going to be our little girl.  I love making these purchasing decisions and picking them up.  Our apartment is quickly being littered with baby items and it’s a good feeling.

My belly has grown a lot.  I’ll take a photo this week.  I love feeling Roo kick get stronger and stronger, which means that I feel her much more frequently throughout the day.  I’m over feeling odd about it and just adore knowing that she’s here with me all the time.  I love laying in bed when I fall asleep and when I first wake up and feel her moving all around.  Now, instead of feeling just her feet kick me, I can feel both her feet and hands moving at the same time.  It’s so much fun.  I’m in love, can you tell?

This past week was infertility awareness week.  I read many blog entries about it especially those who have not yet been able to find their happy ending yet and it made me reflect on my own journey.  Each person’s story is different.  Each person’s journey will take a different path – like in all facets of life.  As a (most-of-the-time) positive person, I like to focus on the positive.  A friend came to stay with us on Thursday night – she was in town for work – and she shared her sister’s story with me: her sister was 36 when she got married and tried to get pregnant for years.  She went through three IVF cycles without success and had made the decision to take a break from TTC.  She made all kinds of plans to train for and run a marathon, take classes, travel with her husband to refocus on marriage than baby, etc.  All of the “things” that we neglect when consumed with TTC.  Two months after stopping all of the medications, tests, ultrasounds, etc., her sister got a miracle BFP.  Today, after four years of TTC and dealing with infertility, they now have a six month old baby girl.  Our friend’s sister was 40 when she got her miracle BFP.  I know that I got a miracle BFP but this story is even more miraculous than our story and it gives me continued hope for my many friends who follow this blog who continue to struggle.  I never give up hope for you!

How far along? 26 weeks, 1 days
Total weight gain:
17.6 pounds since my first OB appointment
Maternity clothes? 
Yes!
Stretch marks? None, still slathering up every day with cocoa butter lotion
Sleep: I’ve been sleeping better now but I’m suffering from allergies so breathing and a stuffy nose are not my friend
Best moment this week: Knowing that I can feel Roo move around almost all times of the day
Miss anything? An allergy-free day and a good sleep
Movement: YES – tons!
Food cravings: Sweets
Anything making you queasy or sick:  Nope!
Labor Signs: None
Belly Button in or out?  Starting to stick out!
Wedding rings on or off?  On
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy, happy, happy!
Looking forward to: Reaching the third trimester!

5 thoughts on “Already 26 weeks!

  1. How exciting about the house!!! I’m glad to hear all is well with you. I can hardly believe you are 26 weeks, either! So amazing. I love that story you shared. I really hope your poor hubby starts feeling better!

Please share your story

