Some Things Are Not Meant To Be…


I’m so disappointed.  I’ve spent the morning crying.  We got a call about the house that we’ve been waiting for since January.  Because the house that we want is owned by the same large bank that MH works for, if the sale went through, MH could lose his job.  We should have been given this information at the beginning, not today.  Four months into the process.  Four long months of waiting.  Not a soul bothered to tell us that this might be a problem.  I’m upset on so many different levels.

Mostly, I’m sad because it was seriously the perfect house for us to live in for many years: 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms.   The only work we needed to do on it was to repaint the exterior.  Here’s a link to it: http://www.redfin.com/WA/Seattle/3002-NW-65th-St-98117/home/165143   Now that we won’t be living there, I’m more than happy to share it with you 🙂

We will go this weekend to rescind our offer and start to look at other houses.  I hope that we can find another amazing house in our price range that meets all of our wishes AND that we can move into before Roo arrives – preferably at least a month before she arrives.

Some things are not meant to be and I hope that it means that a much better house that suits are wishes and needs will come along.

Oh, and I have to pay a massive tax bill today.  Because I’m a consultant and pay taxes once a year – lucky me it’s that time of year!  This year, my goal is to not make as much money so we don’t have to face this massive tax bill again next year – LOL 😉

Hope you all are having a better day than I am!  Guess I’m feeling overly emotional today 😦

10 thoughts on “Some Things Are Not Meant To Be…

  1. Your blog has been in my reader for a while, but I do not think I have commented previously.

    I am not sure how to say this without coming across as a stalker, but I promise I am not. (I had no idea we lived so close to each other.) Anyhow… I live REALLY close to this neighborhood and have admired this house for a while. I even had a little daydream about living there myself, instead of the condo that I love but wish had more space. I am so very bummed that you don’t get this one!

    Good luck to you in the future! I promise that I am still not a stalker. (You can email me if you need to check. 😉 I’m not sure what evidence is needed to prove that, however.)

    • K, you are hilarious. How could you be a stalker when I was the one who put the link for all to see?! Don’t worry! Thank you for following my blog.

      If you showed up at my house than I would think you were a stalker 😉

  2. I’m so sorry you didn’t get that house! I just looked at the pictures and its gorgeous! I’m seriously pouting for you… I hope you guys can find something similar with out the job consequences before little Roo gets here!

  3. Oh my GAWD! I would be SO disappointed too, I am SO sorry!! This is terrible. Is there any way for you to buy the house without his name on it… kind of trick the system? Not sure if your income can qualify but it might be worth a shot? I feel your emotional drag today, I’m sorry hun!

    • Izzy, I wish we could try it except that my income definitely doesn’t qualify. Plus I already own a place in DC (being rented out), so I’d have to qualify for this place plus the one I currently own, which would be a LOT of $$$! Good idea though – keep ’em coming! 🙂

  4. I’m so sorry about the house. I am a Realtor- and without FAIL when clients of mine don’t get a house for some reason (multiple offers, inspections, etc)- they will tell me that whatever house they eventually end up with is THE house- and that in hindsight they are so glad the original house didn’t work. I know it is hard to trust that right now as you are in the thick of it, but your HOME is out there- and when you find it, hopefully everything will make sense. Good luck with your search!!

Please share your story

