23 Week Update


It’s been a while since I’ve done a proper update.  In part because of work travel and in part because I’ve been so busy living life, which is a good thing.

What “they” say about the second trimester being one during which you feel great is true!  At least it has started to be so for me after the nausea and gagging ended a couple of weeks ago.  The insomnia, I can live with.  The allergies that I wrote about yesterday are horrible but at least they are more bearable than the morning sickness.  When I’m not suffering from allergies, I feel fantastic!!  I almost can forget the thoughts of not doing this (pregnancy) again, which is a good thing 🙂

By the way, I can’t believe in just four weeks, I’ll be starting the third trimester!!!  WOW!

At nearly 24 weeks, I’m moving along quite nicely!  I’ve been working a few hours a day three days a week at a very popular and well-known furniture store that has two words with the initials P and B.  I love it because I’m meeting people and will eventually be able to take advantage of their generous discount, when we get word on our darn house.  The hourly pay sucks – so much that I haven’t once picked up my paycheck – ooops!  But, it’s worth it.  I really enjoy the people who I work with and the customers who come in are generally nice too.  I’ve talked to a LOT of moms and other pregnant women, which is a lot of fun.

I find it strange that people I have never met – usually older women – almost as soon as they notice that I’m pregnant reach out with their hands to touch my belly.  I physically have started to step back from those hands.  I don’t understand the appeal of touching someone else’s belly, especially a stranger’s belly.  I would never dream of it unless I 1) asked permission first and 2) knew the person well.  A girlfriend suggested the next time someone does it to me that I do it back and try to rub their belly – LOL.  Funny to think about doing but kind of gross for me, right?!  They would surely learn their lesson 🙂

Remember when I first started to feel Roo move around?  I was freaked out by it.  It felt abnormal and alien to me.  Now, I really love it.  I feel connected to her.  I can imagine her in my head squirming around like she will when she arrives – with her feet and arms waving about, her face squished up against the light shining in her face.  I am BEYOND excited.  Her movement on a regular basis is getting stronger and stronger and more and more frequent.  I love it!

Do you also remember when I decided to not watch heart pounding movies until after Roo is born because I get so worked up?  Well, I made an exception to it over the last weekend.  I read the Hunger Games and just loved the entire series.  I (im)patiently waited for the movie for the past year and MH and I saw it on Saturday night.  I LOVED it!  I have friends who were disappointed by it but I really enjoyed myself.  I thought they did a great job of capturing the book into a movie.  There clearly was a lot of back story that I think was left out because it would have taken too much time to put into the script (and might help people who haven’t read the book understand some of the relationships) but overall it was well done.  Way better than Twilight I have to say – sorry Twilight lovers!  (I only saw and read the first of the Twilight series).  I cannot wait until the other movies come out – definitely babysitter worthy 🙂  The only problem I had with the movie had nothing to do with the movie itself but my pregnant body.  I can’t sit for that long without being uncomfortable.  I think my skinny corduroy pants, which are way cute, are getting too tight and caused my legs to fall asleep.  I had to get up and walk around.  I went to the bathroom and got some water and went back in.  I’ll have to keep that in mind the next time I need to sit for a long period of time – which will be next week when I fly to DC to see my parents and for my baby shower!!!!!

How far along? 23 weeks, 5 days
Total weight gain:
Will find out an updated amount of weight gained next Tuesday morning’s OB appointment
Maternity clothes? 
Yes, and needing some more summer-like clothes – bought a pair of compression socks for the cross-country flight next week
Stretch marks? None, still slathering up every day with cocoa butter lotion
Sleep: I’ve been sleeping better now that I’m giving myself permission to sleep on either side of my body
Best moment this week: Seeing a foot or a hand kick me so hard that I saw the movement on the outside of my belly!
Miss anything? An allergy-free day
Movement: YES – tons!
Food cravings: Sweets
Anything making you queasy or sick:  Nothing – FINALLY!!!
Labor Signs: None
Belly Button in or out?  In but my belly button is nearly completely flattened and the reminder that I used to have a belly button ring is very clearly there
Wedding rings on or off?  On
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy, happy, happy!
Looking forward to: MH feeling Roo for the first time – he’s just not patient enough to sit there and wait – it’s aggravating to me but it’s his loss, right?!

2 thoughts on “23 Week Update

Please share your story

