Registry Wishes


When MH and I got married, we had a private and quiet wedding ceremony.  In spite of not inviting friends or extended family, people still wanted to share in the excitement of our marriage and so we were encouraged to register for gifts.  We did but it felt awkward especially because we married at an older age and as fairly successful professionals, we had most everything that we needed to start our life together.  Now, as soon-to-be new parents, we are registering once again.  This time, we have NOTHING baby related in our possession and need all the help we can get!

When considering and creating our baby registry, we decided on two things: 1) keep it simple and 2) put only what we absolutely need on it.  I did a lot of research when pulling it together.  It actually is three different registeries, by the way!  We registered at Babies R Us (BRU), Amazon and a local shop for our cloth diapers.  I chose three different places to register because BRU doesn’t carry everything that I wanted but Amazon does and I really like the cloth diapers that a local Seattle small business carries.

I chose my items based on the advice of friends and from recommendations from the Baby Bargains book that I’ve written about before.  I actually found that book to be incredibly useful.  Some advice given to me includes not registering for a high chair as Roo won’t need one until she’s at least six months old, maybe longer, skipping the diaper wipes warmer as it grows mold, not buying a changing table and just using the top of a dresser, etc.  Incredibly useful information that I wouldn’t really think of myself.

Some of the larger (aka more important) items on our registry include:

  • Chicco Keyfit 22 carseat – it fits in the backseat of our car, which many other carseats don’t
  • UppaBaby Cruz Stroller plus the infant seat adapter
  • Graco Pack-n-Play – will be used as a bassinet in our bedroom during the first few months
  • Ergo Carrier
  • EuroBath

Some of the smaller items (aka things we could survive without) that we’ve registered for include:

  • Aden + Anais Swaddle Blankets
  • Skip Hop Treetop Friends Activity Gym
  • Fisher Price Papasan Cradle Swing – Little Lamb
  • Philips Avent Dect Baby Monitor with Temperature Sensor (audio only)

These are just some of the items but honestly there aren’t that many more on our list.  I put some smaller, less expensive items on there too for different price points such as Sophie the Giraffe, etc.  If you are really interested in what I fully registered for leave a comment and be sure your email is included and I’ll email you links to the registeries!

For those of you also building your registry, please share any items that you’ve heard are MUST have items!  Note that there are few baby diapering items as I’m cloth diapering and those appear on the cloth diaper registry!

11 thoughts on “Registry Wishes

  1. I’d love to hear more about your decision to go with cloth diapering and how to choose the cloth diapers. I am VERY interested in this for our little one some day.

    Also, one thing a friend of mine registered for which I thought was REALLY cool was a bottle heater. Rather than heating in a microwave (heating plastic=bad) or stove top(time consuming) this smart little machine would keep pre-pumped or formula milk in the bottle cold until you push a button and it heats it up to the perfect temp. It looks so cool and will definitely be on my list so that the Hub can help with night time feedings 🙂

    The other thing I’ll have to have is this, since it monitors if the baby stops breathing in the night and is supposed to prevent SIDS:

    http://www.amazon.com/Angelcare-Movement-Sound-Monitor-Deluxe/dp/B002ZB82CU/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1333582255&sr=8-3

      • Hilarious! I don’t see a picture – just a link!

        I’ll definitely do a post on my decision to go with cloth, etc. That one might take some time since I’m still learning but I’ll definitely do one in the next month or two!

      • Hahah, that’s a really big picture! 🙂 🙂 Just fyi, I have some friends who love the Angel Care monitor, but if you do research OUTSIDE of Angel Care advocates, a lot of people are against this monitor because they feel it offers a false sense of security. Baby Bargains (NOT the be-all-and-end-all, I know!) gives it an F on a scale of A (best), B, C, D, F (worst-fail). Again, I know people who use it and love it– I just wanted to share so that you can do all of your own research and make the best decision for you!

  2. I was curious since you said you registered for Sophie the Giraffe – I was reading the reviews on it and the negative reviews sounded a little scary. I know that people who love it, REALLY love it. Anyway, I was curious about your perspective because once I read those reviews I feel very unsure about it now.

    Thanks! 🙂

  3. That sounds great! I will have to keep tabs on what you get. I have no clue what’s needed haha. Good luck!! I bet you’ll get some great input!

  4. Looks awesome! Ps for swaddling I bought a couple of those Velcro pouch swaddles AMAZING I am sad as my boy is now 14lbs and I can barely squeeze his fat booty into it. I have the a&a blankets but find it hard to get them tight enough. You can get those Velcro ones from bru for pretty cheap. A little bouncy chair is handy when your home alone with baby and you have to pee. Just bring it into the bathroom with you (sorry if that’s tmi but I find it helpful when I’m all alone) baby clothes hangers some people give you clothes with no hangers and stupid me didn’t realize at first you needed a smaller size! I bought quite a few, also sold at bru.

  5. Congrats on putting together your registry! I didn’t even want to do one, but my best friend “made” me, and I ended up making it way more extensive than I had originally planned, and I’m glad I did because we have been AMAZED at all the people in our lives who have wanted to send us baby gifts and a lot of people have asked about the registry, and it’s nice to get things we’ve picked out (and has helped not to get too many duplicates of things). One thing that is not a must have that we put on were lots of books…an easy price point for a lot of people and we have a nice little library now for our little ones…

  6. Registering is fun! I hope you enjoyed it at least a little bit. One thing I’d recommend is an exergen temporal thermometer. It is so much better to take a baby’s temp by passing a wand over the forehead than sticking something in their little ears or bottom!

  7. I would love to see your registry… I’m working on mine now and I’m so curious as to what others like & researched. I registered at B r Us, Amazon and another store that has my bedding, so I’d love to see what’s on your B R Us and Amazon registries! Thanks!

Please share your story

