PAIL: Breastfeeding


This month’s PAIL writing challenge/topic is on breastfeeding.  Honestly, I know nothing about it.  It looks easy but I hear it’s a challenge for new moms and sometimes doesn’t work.

In the perfect world, I would love to exclusively breastfeed as I’ve been reading the breast is best – whether valid or not.  I like the idea of being able to have that specific one-on-one time with Roo when he/she is born that no one else can participate in.  Sorry, MH!  I’ll pump too though so you can feed Roo occasionally when I get out of the house for some alone time 🙂

I don’t have any criticism for women who voluntarily choose not to breast feed.  I don’t believe their children will be any worse off than if they were breast-fed.  I was never breast-fed, as far as I know.  Being adopted at six weeks old, I always was bottle fed.  And, darn it, I turned out perfectly fine!  OK, maybe that’s why I didn’t become the pediatrician my dad hoped I would grow up to be 😉  Just kidding.

In all seriousness, I don’t believe that one is better than the other.  The most important thing is that your baby gets the nutrients that he/she needs and is growing strong and healthy.  How he gets his nutrients shouldn’t matter – we should be grateful that we live in a world where if nursing isn’t possible because of being a working mom or breasts that just won’t produce enough milk that we don’t have to rely on a wet-nurse or another mom and can turn to formula filled with good vitamins.  I would much rather give my kid a bottle of formula than let some other woman nurse my child.  But, what the heck do I know!?

I’m excited to try nursing.  I hope it works and if it doesn’t I won’t beat myself up about it (too much).  I’ll happily pass along feeding duties to MH 🙂

5 thoughts on “PAIL: Breastfeeding

  1. Nursing is tough. I am not going to lie. Formula has its place, some women just can’t produce enough milk no matter how much they try (my sister had to supplement). But for those of us who can, which is most women, should. Don’t get frustrated with yourself or roo. You will both be learning and need to work out the kinks. I love the special time I have with Theodore and when they look up at you when feeding it will just melt your heart!

    The thing that is kind of hard with breast feeding is you are tied to your child and their schedule. Which I wouldn’t have it any other way, but you know once a week it would be nice to just get out for an hour without having to worry if they are screaming at home wanting to eat. I know if I pumped, which I need to start doing to store up some milk, that issue would be fixed but right now I am at a one month olds beck and call haha

  2. I agree with you! I’d love to give it a shot, but it is in no way a failure if it doesn’t work. I know some women feel more strongly about it, but I’ve always kinda been neutral with it. I hope it works well for you!

  3. Pingback: PAIL: March Theme Post–On Matters of the Boob | Yolk: A blog about eggs and sperm

  4. You can read my post on breast feeding to get my full story, but my advice to you is if you are really interested in breastfeeding, get yourself to a class or speak with a lactation consultant. The my LC’s told me the only natural thing about breast feeding is that no matter what your decision, your breasts will produce something in the beginning.

    I wish you the best of luck!

  5. I’d say the main benefit to breastmilk over formula is all the antibodies that are present in breastmilk and not in formula. Everything Ive read says that if you can at least get that first week, that first month. etc worth of bm in the baby, that’s it’s priceless. Yes, your baby will be okay on formula (my hubby was a formula baby and he turned out just fine *grin*) but formula babies are more prone to sickness in that first year or two of life, just FYI!

    Honestly, the reasons I chose to really try to BF were (1)immunity benefits, (2)it’s FREE, (3)bonding.

    Everyone’s reasons for their decision will be different, and that’s okay. 😉

    I started pumping once a morning and we introduced a bottle at 3 1/2 weeks – that way I had a little more freedom and my hubby could feed her (and since I ended up back at work at 6w, the daycare lady can feed her). That was key to sanity for me – I can now “take a break” or have some beers or whatever. I still love BFing, but I’m glad that I pump as well.

    Good luck!

Please share your story

