Protein Powder Recommendations?


I love coming to you all for advice.  I think I mentioned in a previous post that because I’m not gaining weight that my OB recommended drinking a milkshake a day with a little protein powder.  She didn’t have any specific brands to recommend so I wanted to see if any of you have taken protein powder while pregnant and if you can recommend a good brand for me to try.

I am really into strawberry milkshakes and am already having one a day 🙂  I prefer to have a non-flavored powder or a flavor that complements the strawberries and vanilla ice cream that I use for my shakes!

Thanks in advance!

7 thoughts on “Protein Powder Recommendations?

  1. I used an unflavored egg white protein powder, which is virtually tasteless, IMO. My usual brand is Now Foods, but my local Whole Foods stopped carrying it, so I have to try a different brand. 😦

    I haven’t used this while pregnant, but I can highly recommend it for smoothies/shakes where you don’t want to change the flavor. Also, on a side note, I’ve noticed that most flavored protein powders are also sweetened. Don’t know if that matters to you.

  2. I use Vega, its a vegan protein powder and for 2 scoops (200cals) it has 100% of virtually all your vitamins and minerals. I only use 1/2-1 scoop per day however since I am also eating food lol and I don’t want to overdose on certain vitamins.

    It has a bunch of flavours but I just have the natural one so I can add it to my fruit smoothies.

    I did a TON of research of what is safe during pregnancy and breast feeding and even showed it to my doctor and she loved it and thought it would be a great addition to my diet.

    • Hi Melody,

      I’m also looking for protein powder for my wife during pregnancy, and found your suggestion about Vega Protein powder (recommended by other friends also). Reading your post about makes me confident. Can she start using Vega? She is at 9 weeks.

  3. I haven’t been using protein powder, but I drink prepared Ensure shakes, which were recommended by one of my books. They are convenient and taste pretty good.

Please share your story

