Update: 17 weeks, 5 days


Twelve days until we find out if Roo is a boy or a girl!  Now that we’ve fully decided to find out, I’m so excited.  There are so many things that I love about little girls and there are just as many things that I love about little boys that I’d be happy with either.  I’d love to have a little girl to shop for and play with growing up.  But, I know about the challenges of having a little girl.  I spent two years as a volunteer in an early childhood Montessori classroom (with kids ages 3-4.5) and the girls even at age three can be “mean” girls – “I’m not inviting you to my birthday party, if you don’t x, y or z.”  It’s ridiculous.  Little boys don’t have that kind of drama.  But, little boys have their own kind of drama and challenges.  Growing up, I babysat little boys mostly for some reason, so I have a little more experience with them.  They are fun and are good cuddlers with Mommy!  I can see MH with our little girl though too – she’ll have him wrapped around her finger!  Either way, we are just looking forward to finding out if Roo’s a boy or girl.

I really appreciate the support that you all are giving me around the baby shower.  I realize that I was being a little ridiculous – so many of you are still struggling to get pregnant and I’m whining about no one throwing me a shower (not very sensitive of me).  I apologize.  Yes, a baby shower would be a wonderful thing but it won’t be the end of the world if no one throws one for me.  I would love the attention and the knowledge that my friends celebrate Roo as much as MH and I do but at the end of the day, Roo is our baby and no one could ever love him/her as much as we do.  My parents have already offered to buy us the safest car seat available, so I know we’ll get at least one present!  Also, a new friend here in Seattle met me for lunch yesterday and said that she wants to be sure that I get a baby shower!

MH and I are dealing with some outside challenges lately.  MH’s mom was diagnosed with early Alzheimer’s Disease last September.  The doctors said that it would progress slowly with anticipated full Alzheimer’s onset within 7-10 years.  However, recent events have demonstrated that the disease is progressing more quickly than they were predicting.  It’s very scary for MH and his sister and for me – it’s especially hard because his mom is in Wisconsin and his sister is just a couple of hours away in Chicago.  From a selfish perspective, I also worry about how this will affect MH down the road.  The disease has a genetic component, so it is very likely that MH could also have it.  MH’s mom is just 75 years old – too early in our opinion to deal with this disease.  Looking back, she showed signs of the disease as early as two years ago.  Ugh, so very hard all around.

I’ve decided to start “coming out of the closet” but I’m still trying to figure out how to do it.  My name is VERY Google-able because of my job.  I’m not as worried about YOU knowing more about me but the other way around.  I’m worried about potential clients/employers reading this blog – not because I’m ashamed but because I think it’s not their business.  So, I need to think about how to do this carefully before officially doing it.  If you’ve had experience with this before, please let me know what you did and how you did it (e.g., put your name out there like: J.ane Do.e, so you can see it but it isn’t searchable).

This week, Roo is the size of an onion:

How far along? 17 weeks, 5 days
Total weight gain:
Up a total of 4.4 pounds since my very first OB appointment
Maternity clothes? 
Yes – and happy to be in them!
Stretch marks? None, fingers crossed!
Sleep: Off and on insomnia
Best moment this week: Having a stranger come up and ask me when I am due – I know some people are offended by it but I love it!  I embrace being pregnant and am proud of it!
Miss anything? A good night’s sleep
Movement: I haven’t felt anything this week imagined or otherwise – hopefully soon :)
Food cravings: Any and all fresh fruit
Anything making you queasy or sick:  Poultry
Gender Predictions: A girl!
Labor Signs: None
Belly Button in or out?  In but my belly button is flattening out so much so that MH mentioned it the other night
Wedding rings on or off?  On
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy though stressed!
Looking forward to: Our 20 week u/s and finding out the gender – March 12!!

8 thoughts on “Update: 17 weeks, 5 days

  1. I can’t wait for a stranger to ask me when I’m due!!!

    Sorry to hear about the Alzheimers, very scary stuff to be dealing with.

    Can’t wait to find out Roo’s sex!

  2. Even though I lost my first baby at 8.5 weeks, since I had a D&C, my OB sent everything off to be tested to see if we could determine why we lost the baby. We found out it was a little girl — and I had wanted nothing but fresh fruit all the time and I detested the taste of chicken! I think there’s something to be said about mother’s intuition too. I always thought #1 was a girl and I had a feeling that the LO I’m carrying now was a boy – I ended up being right both times. I can’t wait to see if your prediction is right 🙂

  3. I totally had a feeling I was having a boy (even though in my family my grandma only had girls, my aunt only had girls, my mom only had girls and my sister just had a girl) and I was right!!
    I get what you are saying about boys and girls. I was so confused as to what to do with a boy but not I am so happy hes a boy, I don’t think I could deal my the emotions of a girl (I was a tough kid)
    I hope you let us all know what you are having I am soo excited!

    I have the Britax Chaperone Carseat and it’s a really safe one, expensive but worth ever penny. However its HUGE, we drive a half ton truck and it just fits. Make sure you either research or actually take the car seat and test it out in your car before you buy it.

  4. Sorry for the Alzheimer’s diagnosis on you MIL, I can only imagine how tough that can be.

    We’re still up in the air about finding out the gender…ok, we really haven’t talked about it, but I want to know, but also want to wait. We’ll see what happens.

    I’m still a bit embarrassed or maybe just not sure what do do, I guess you could say when people learn that I am pregnant. Whether I’ve told them myself or they just come up and say congrats (mostly at work). I just don’t know what to say. Quite strange.

  5. I remember when I was about 16 weeks along thinking, “WOW! This thing inside me is already a boy or a girl and I DON’T EVEN KNOW ABOUT IT!!” I’m such a curious/nosy person that it just blew my mind that the little being already had a sex without its mommy even being privy to it. So funny, the things my pregnant mind concerned itself with. 🙂

  6. I also live in the seattle area, I’m not sure if you have heard about it or not but the end of this month (march) there will be some consignment sales going on in the area, (you can go to JBFsale.com) to find out more about them. (seattle march 23-25, tacoma (actually the puyallup fairgrounds)march 29-april 1). These are very good sales there is so much stuff for sale it isnt even funny, there is maternity clothes tons of kids clothes, toys carseats, cribs bassinests, carriers, strollers, swings, high chairs, bouncers and you can find so much stuff for really good prices, they make sure nothign is on a recal list also. I have gone to these sale 2 times (this month will make my 3rd time and will have consigned at them twice also) you can get in for free since you are a first time parent. Its really worth going. Can’t wait to hear what your having!

    • Hope, thank you so much for this tip! We may be in SF the weekend that this is in Seattle and then I’m in Las Vegas for a client the following weekend…fingers crossed that I can make the one in Seattle! This tip is helpful 🙂

Please share your story

