Feeling Down…[WARNING: A Feeling Sorry for Myself Post]


I’m having trouble with commenting on people’s blogs – especially Blogger for some reason.  My information doesn’t get verified and it goes round and round in circles.  I’m unable to leave comments on Blogger blogs.  It is frustrating for me because lots of you leave me comments and I want to return the support and am unable.  Please know that I’m here, cheering you on, supporting you in your hard times and your good times, and in general reading 🙂

The insomnia is back and this time with a vengeance.  I’m up around 1:30 or 2am and can’t fall back asleep until around 5am or so.  Ugh!  It’s exhausting.  It’s making me depressed.  OK, maybe not depressed but it is frustrating.  It makes it hard to function that day in a normal manner.

I’m actually down because a friend from high school told me when I shared that I am pregnant that she wants to throw me a baby shower.  She was going to ask another very good friend one mine.  However, I know that my other very good friend is in the middle of a serious financial crisis – she just got divorced, etc.  I don’t think the first friend is going to come through.  It makes me sad.  I’m planning to fly to the East Coast to visit this group of friends – girls who I’ve known since I was 16 years old.  This might be my only opportunity for a baby shower because I don’t have any close friends here in Seattle, clearly since we just moved here, and I don’t have any super close friends in San Francisco who would think to throw me a shower – plus, I don’t know when or if we’ll be down there anytime soon.

So dumb, right?!  A few months ago, I didn’t think that I would ever get pregnant on my own.  Now, here I am pregnant naturally with our first little one (who by the way seems to be healthy in there, according to all blood test results!).  I shouldn’t be bitching about my friends not being able to throw me a shower.  I should just be happy with what I have and celebrate the fact that I’m pregnant and we’re bringing a life to this world and adding a new member to our family.  I should be quiet now….

Boy, I’m feeling whiny about it and need to let it out.  This might be the one and only time that I am pregnant.  I want to celebrate the fact that we’re having a baby.  I want to rejoice the fact that we are bringing this life into the world.  So, I might just throw myself a shower and not call it a shower but a bump party.  Is that lame?  (That’s a rhetorical question).  I don’t care if Emily Post would say that is not following etiquette…this is my baby and I’m going to celebrate Roo.  Since I know that my girlfriends are more than happy to get together with me, they’ve all said they’re available the weekend I plan to fly East, I might just get everyone together for brunch and call it my bump celebration.  I plan to register for gifts but I won’t explicitly ask for them (I wouldn’t even if someone did throw me a shower, I’m not that rude).  Maybe none of them will show up and if they don’t than I will know who my true friends are after all of these years 🙂

14 thoughts on “Feeling Down…[WARNING: A Feeling Sorry for Myself Post]

  1. OMG I’m in such a similar situation! ALL of my friend are in NYC and I’m in SF, I have no friends here and thus no one to throw me a baby shower. I wish I didn’t care, but I do, I’ve always wanted a baby shower and now it seems I won’t get one.
    I say throw yourself that Bump celebration! Screw Emily Post!

    Also Blogger is being a bitch for me too! No idea how to fix it. It’s letting me comment but it’s causing ALL sorts of problems on my own blog. Boo!

  2. I say have yourself a party and celebrate!

    Are your friends the kind of people who will care if you follow Emily Post’s etiquette rules? If not, I wouldn’t worry about that aspect of it. 🙂

  3. Be passive aggressive! Tell one of your SF friends that you are missing out on the baby shower experience and maybe one of them will offer to throw you one. Okay, maybe it isn’t the best way to handle things, but you deserve a typical shower, dammit! I’m frustrated for you! It’s not just about the presents. It’s a rite of passage!

  4. Let me just say I think you have a right to feel the way you do. Yes, you struggled to get this far and yes, we all feel like whiney bee-otches when we complain. But I think because you’ve struggled, that’s all the more reason to want to celebrate that something so amazing has happened to you! I’d throw you a shower if I could! I’m collecting tons of fun ideas on Pintrest I’d love to use! I’d feel out your friends a bit more just to make sure whether or not they will follow through before you go ahead with the backup plan but I think the idea of a bump party is super cute! So what if Emily Post disagrees. There’s a lot to be said about good etiquette, especially when it comes to certain things, like showing up late and stuff like that. It’s also cute to know what’s “traditionally” done. But girl, it’s 2012 and if you, your momma or even your dog wants to throw you a shower, I say go for it. I think you deserve to enjoy every minute of your pregnancy! Hope it all works out!

  5. I’m sorry about the shower dilemma, but I love the idea of a bump celebration! I think Emily Post is old news! Out with the old and in with the fun and new, get your friends together and celebrate! Also for your friend thats struggling financially, if she still wants to do it, maybe you could offer to help out a little?

    Now on to blogger sucking… so true. Here is the trick I’ve found, sign out of your blogger account and un-check the remember me/keep me signed in button. Its a pain and you’ll have to re-sign in each time you get online but it works great.

  6. I just had my son and decided to do a meet and greet instead of a baby shower (i too live in a different city than my friends but went home to have him). I say do whatever you want. This is one of the most exciting times of your life and at least this way your shower aka bump party will be exactly what you want.

    Melody

  7. I love the idea of a Bump party 🙂 That sounds fun and relaxed, and if people want to get you things then that’s great!

    I’m also having problems with blogger. It’s when people only let you comment by signing in and you try to sign in through wordpress. The blogger blogs that allow you to enter “Name / URL” as an option for identifying yourself will still work for you.

Please share your story

