Update: 16 weeks, 6 days


Clearly I’ve been hit with pregnancy insomnia again (it’s 3:30am PT).  This week has been tough.  I was doing so darn well but something has happened and I’ve been waking up earlier and earlier and haven’t been able to fall back asleep until who knows when.  Argh!  It’s OK though – things could be worse 🙂  In general, I’m sleeping better thanks to the addition of a couple of pillows – one behind me and one between my legs.  I thought about buying a pregnancy pillow but these two seem to do the trick!

This week has been a good one.  My energy is back for the most part and the nausea and morning sickness is greatly improved!

After I had my blood drawn the second time, I stopped by a consignment shop that sells baby gear, baby clothes and toys.  They also happen to sell maternity clothes!  I got a pair of maternity Citizens of Humanity for less than half the price plus a pair of cargo pants and a super cute t-shirt.  All for less than half the price of a new pair of Citizens.  I’m proud of my bargain shopping skills and I’m pleased to be the owner of a pair of designer maternity jeans – which by the way, fit me so much better than my Gap maternity jeans.  My body image will thank me later 🙂

This week’s OB appointment was a good one (see earlier post for that update).  She reminded us to register for the hospital childbirth classes as they fill up quickly and also to start thinking about choosing a pediatrician.  WHAT?!  It’s so early yet.  We don’t know anyone here.  How are we supposed to choose a doctor for our unborn baby when we don’t even have doctors for ourselves (other than this OB))?  I must have had a funny look on my face because she quickly followed that comment by saying that the time between now and the birth will fly by faster than we expect and often times new parents forget to find a pediatrician…

I think I need to start a “To Do” list for this baby.  I got the Baby Bargains book and it will be very useful when putting together our baby registry and the list of items we need.  I’ve decided to keep it as simple as possible and get just the basics.  As Roo gets older, we can add but there’s no need to buy everything right away (e.g., a high chair that isn’t needed until Roo is about 6 months old).  I also started to read a book that I borrowed from the library called Home Birth in the Hospital.  I’m really enjoying it and I think that I’ll have MH read at least parts of it when I’m finished.  It’s making me feel empowered and hopeful that I can have the kind of birth that I want in the hospital that we’ve chosen.  Based on our conversations with our OB, I think she’s going to be amenable to our wishes.  I’ll write a separate post about my non-birth plan plan that is stuck in my head right now.

I can’t believe that tomorrow (Saturday), I’ll be 17 weeks pregnant.  Roo is the size of an avocado:

How far along? 16 weeks, 6 days
Total weight gain:
Up a total of 4.4 pounds since my very first OB appointment
Maternity clothes? 
Yes, I gained some new additions to my maternity wardrobe this week and I’m totally excited about them!
Stretch marks? None
Sleep: Off and on insomnia
Best moment this week: Hearing Roo’s heartbeat again and seeing MH’s face light up when he heard it for the first time (he wasn’t able to come to my last appointment)!
Miss anything? A plate of artisan salami and cheeses
Movement: I haven’t felt anything this week imagined or otherwise – hopefully soon 🙂
Food cravings: Strawberries, ice cream
Anything making you queasy or sick:  Poultry
Gender Predictions: A girl (still!)
Labor Signs: None
Belly Button in or out?  In but my belly button is flattening out
Wedding rings on or off?  On
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy!
Looking forward to: Our 20 week u/s and finding out the gender

7 thoughts on “Update: 16 weeks, 6 days

  1. Ugh, sorry about your insomnia! So glad other things are improving though – yay! 🙂 It does seem like there’s lots to do and think about. I suppose it’s good to start early. Thankfully you have lots of time 🙂
    I think it’s a girl, too 🙂

  2. I have the pregnancy insomnia too. Guess what?? It only gets worse! Gotta love it.
    You’re getting so close to your anatomy scan! Yayy! Yaknow, I was sooooo sure I had a little boy in there, but surprise shes a girl! They say it’s never what you predict. I was shocked!

  3. Glad to hear you’re starting to feel better! Pediatrician, really? I’m only 2 weeks behind you and looking for a pediatrician hasn’t even crossed my mind! I wouldn’t even know where to begin!

    Good luck!

  4. Sorry about the insomnia (I avoided that by taking unisom during my pregnancy). I can’t imagine that’s very fun! But, yay, for the sickness/nausea being gone!!

    And, yes, there is a lot to prepare for with having a baby, but you do still have time. My only advice is take your time and enjoy planning it all out :).

    ICLW #97

  5. An avocado, wow!! I remember when you posted a blueberry (what mine is now) and now an avocado!!

    And i just watched a documentary on netflix called “the business of being born” and i learned a ton about birthing options. Its pretty incredible.

Please share your story

