Update: 15 weeks, 5 days


Wow – this week has been a good one (knock-on-wood, fingers crossed).  For the first time in a while, I’m starting to feel back to normal.  I seriously am afraid to do anything differently though because I fear that I’ll do something that takes me back a step or two in the road to feeling good.  In the meantime, I’m taking advantage of this good feeling 🙂

I still don’t have my appetite back and I can’t wait until it does because I’m just tired of not having my taste buds working properly.  I hope they come back soon!!!  I also am terrified to eat any poultry because of my aversion to it.  I might have to try some soon but I don’t feel in any hurry to do so.  I have to admit that I’m hungry sometimes because I’m too scared to eat in fear of gagging or dry heaving.  Argh.

In the meantime, my bump is getting bigger.  No, I haven’t taken any photos yet.  I don’t know why.  I really want to because this might be the one and only time that I’m pregnant and I want to remember what I look like throughout!  I need to get MH on board and have him remind me to do so but I don’t think he’s as into it as I am as he isn’t much of a photographer.  I might have to learn how to take them myself.

The Baby Bargains book is on its way to me.  I’ll get it tomorrow – thanks to Amazon Prime!  I can’t wait to start reading it.  We probably won’t start buying anything until we find out the gender in a few weeks – more on that later.

I also had a long talk with MH about my “professional” life and he talked me off the ledge of needing to know right now what I am going to do career-wise.  It helps to know that he’s supportive but I do know that I need to keep thinking about what to do.  We are fine financially without an income from me but our quality of life would be MUCH better with it especially because my earning potential is at least equal to his and possibly greater if I keep on track.  So, we’ll see what happens but the pressure is off.  Thanks to you all too for your advice and thoughts.  I have a lot to think about for what I want for myself and our family.

In the meantime, I can’t believe that today I’m 15 weeks, 5 days pregnant!  It’s incredible!  I still don’t love being pregnant but I love being pregnant – if you know what I mean 🙂  Roo is the size of a naval orange:

I decided to change my “topics” from the previous updates to some new ones:

How far along? 15 weeks, 5 days
Total weight gain:
At my last appointment, I’d gained three pounds – we’ll see how much I’ve gained since on Tuesday!
Maternity clothes? 
Yes, I’m wearing maternity jeans and cords plus some t-shirts – they’re so much more comfortable! I don’t know how some women can wear their regular clothes with the help of the belly band or a rubber band – it’s just too darn uncomfortable for me
Stretch marks? None yet but I’m religiously slathering on shea butter lotion
Sleep: Off and on insomnia but I started sleeping with a pillow between my legs and that’s helping a lot
Best moment this week: Realizing that my m/s is getting better 🙂
Miss anything? Deli meat, sushi
Movement: In my head I think I’ve felt Roo move (I’ve felt something [too hard to explain] two different times but both in the evening) but I realize that it could be gas or just my body growing
Food cravings: Strawberries, sandwich meats (bummer), carbs
Anything making you queasy or sick:  Poultry
Gender Predictions: A girl based on my sudden acne, m/s and friends who’ve had girls with the same exact experiences with these “side effects” of pregnancy
Labor Signs: None, thank goodness!
Belly Button in or out?  In
Wedding rings on or off?  On
Happy or Moody most of the time: Happy!
Looking forward to: Our 20 week u/s and finding out the gender

4 thoughts on “Update: 15 weeks, 5 days

  1. Glad you are doing well and your m/s is getting better! Vancouver is so lovely…glad you had a good time on your trip. And it’s awesome your husband is so supportive of the whole job decision thing…

  2. Hi my name is sarah, iam currently 15weeks 5days, with my 4th baby my other 3 are older, Iam not feeling to much movement but thank god i bought a fetal heart beat monitor cause i can hear the heart anytime”love it so much” i feel little bumps at night a lil but thats it, I wonder when the movements will be more frequent 😦 i cant wait to feel my lil peanut moving. If anyone has advise i would sure love to hear it… Thanks so much, iam dew April 14 2013

    • Hi Sarah,

      I didn’t feel my baby move much more than little flutters until I was much farther along. Do you remember what it was like with your previous babies? If you are truly concerned about your pregnancy, I encourage you to contact your doctor or go to the emergency room. Good luck!

Please share your story

