Update at 14 weeks, 5 days


Having a loss and unexplained infertility still makes it hard for me to believe that this is really happening still and that everything is still OK.  I can’t believe that I’m 2 days away from being 15 weeks pregnant but when I forget I get a reminder that I am especially the past few days.  Morning sickness is in full force – worse than ever before with vomiting and all!  Joy oh joy but I’ll take it!  MH reminds me as he is comforting me that I’d rather feel this way than not be pregnant.  It’s true but it still really sucks.  I’m wearing sea bands as I type this in hopes that they will help.  I might break down and take the Zofran even though Doctor Dad has encouraged me not to take it – MH and I are heading up to Vancouver for a long weekend and I want to enjoy our time there.  I’ve been literally horizontal for the past two days because it helps me a lot.  My body aches from laying down for so many hours in a row so today I’m sitting in a chair in hopes that I can manage to keep away the nausea and dry heaving that seems to hit me every hour at least two or three times.  Ugh!  Again, I’m happy to have these signs that Roo is doing well inside me but it still sucks.

My brother and sister-in-law had a baby girl yesterday morning.  You might recall that I’ve struggled with them especially her since before they got married.  That struggle continues (she said some bitchy comments to me when I told them that I was pregnant) but I’m very happy about the birth of their little girl.  The baby is HUGE and has the cutest chubby cheeks!  She was six days late!

Roo is the size of a lime (edit: ummm…that’s a YELLOW lemon down there not a green lime…pregnancy brain?!):

Symptoms: Wow – all the bad symptoms have come back in full force and worse than ever

Food aversions: Pretty much everything; I’m subsisting on apple sauce and plain yogurt with grape nuts and fruit

Food cravings: Nothing – just wanting to be able to eat anything and keep it down

Mama’s physical changes: Bump is growing! At least one of you has asked for a bump photo and I promise I’ll start to take photos soon

Next milestone: OB appointment on February 21 (week 16); I can’t wait to feel Roo move inside me!

6 thoughts on “Update at 14 weeks, 5 days

  1. Yuck, I know how awful morning sickness is and I’m really sorry you’re getting it so bad right now! I also opted out of zofran…my mfm suggested vitamin b instead. It didn’t help me, but maybe it would work for you? Glad Roo is doing well 🙂

  2. Zofran was a LIFE SAVER for me. It really helped SO much! But I also know it’s always scary to take medications. Gingerale helped me a tad bit and also taking a unisom with vitamin B (but it makes you drowsy) Best of luck!

  3. Have you tried pickled ginger? I used to take the kind that is served with sushi, and that helped with the sickness. Congrats on the new niece. You’ll be getting some hand-me downs for sure!

  4. Aww a lemon! Roo is getting bigger! Yay! Sorry to hear about your morning sickness. Hopefully it won’t last too much longer. I agree though, I would much rather have symptoms to remind me that everything is ok 🙂 So glad to see you progressing!

Please share your story

