Baby Bargains – website or book


As I venture into planning for Roo’s arrival and as I’ve started to share with friends that we’re expecting, I’ve been getting lots of tips and hints on what to buy, what not to buy, etc.  I don’t know where to begin.  A couple of friends have shared their spreadsheets for planning and those in themselves are a little overwhelming (leave your email when leaving a comment if you’re curious about those spreadsheets and I’ll share one of them with you).  I’m tempted to just copy what they bought but that might be overkill especially since one of my friends has twins!  I’m just kidding about just copying what they bought (sort of).

The truth is that I was made aware of the Baby Bargains book and website.  I’m interested but am curious about your experience with Baby Bargains if you have read and used this book.  Is the book worth buying or should I just borrow it from the library?  Is the website better than the book because it is more up to date?

I’m one to do my research from trying a new restaurant to trying a new beauty salon, I like to not only read a professional review, if available, but also user reviews.  Yes, it might seem by reading this blog that I can’t make a decision on my own and that might be true but, truth be told, I like input from those who have gone before me.  In real life, I’m often very opinionated! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Baby Bargains – website or book

  1. I have the book and have found it helpful. My library didn’t have the most recent edition. There are a few things that I’ve found aren’t reviewed (or it says reveiw pending because the product just came out) but I didn’t want to pay for website access too (the web does have reviews of newer products). however, i’m not sure if the web has all of the regular background on types of products/types of strollers etc before the general reviews. What I have done for things that aren’t in the book is read a lot of reviews on amazon/diapers.com/babiesrus etc.

  2. My cousin just told me about this book yesterday and said it was worthwhile. I guess I will look for a copy… However, I think we will be doing a lot of our shopping on craigslist….

Please share your story

