Mommy Meet Ups


I took your recommendations on getting out and meeting new people.  I signed up for a Mommy Meet Up last week and attended my first one on Friday.  I met five mommies and one other pregnant woman.  They were all super sweet and so helpful with lots of hints and tips.  It was so much fun to get out of the house and meet some new people.  The meet up was held at a playground so those moms with older kids could use the playground and the rest of us could hang out in the sun and get to know each other.  I’m going to another meet up this week at one of the downtown art museums.  It was the first time that I’ve been able to speak with other women who are going through the same things that I’m experiencing and/or just had their babies and can easily relate.

Up until now my friends (who I’ve shared the exciting news with so far) who have kids are sweet to share their experiences but most of my friends had their kids more than a few years ago so the freshness of pregnancy and childbirth are farther from their minds…!  These women were able to share some of their experiences in dealing with morning sickness and other pregnancy-related woes.  It is interesting because most of them are younger than me but they seem so much wiser than me!  I get the sense though that they don’t share any loss or infertility issues with me, so I don’t bring it up.

I have to admit that meeting up with a group of women who I don’t know is intimidating.  It helped that this was a new member meet up so everyone there was new to the group, which put everyone on even ground.  I can see myself getting to know some of these women better and I look forward to it!

3 thoughts on “Mommy Meet Ups

  1. It’s also soooo much easier once you have a baby with you! I’m usually the shy and awkward type when meeting new people, but going to all of these mommy&baby activities has really opened up a whole new world. Plus, if there’s ever a lull in the conversation, you start talking about your babies… And never run out of stuff to talk about! 🙂

  2. Good for you for doing that!! I’m so shy, I tend to steer away from things like that. It sounds really cool though! I hope you continue to enjoy & meet nice people.

  3. That’s great that you’re getting out and meeting some other ladies…I agree w/Dana that it will get even easier for you after the baby’s here. Also, don’t necessarily assume that the other ladies haven’t had any issues…it’s not really something that would come up in a first meeting, or that many people feel comfortable talking about. Lots of my mom friends don’t know I had a m/c…actually, most people who know me don’t realize it took us over a year and a loss to conceive this baby. Give it time, you might find some ladies to commiserate with!

Please share your story

