Blue


Now that the holidays are over, two of my clients have wrapped up their projects and life is moving along, I have the blues.  I often get them after the holidays because I feel the let down.  It’s not foreign to me to feel this way but it is slightly heightened because my pregnancy hormones are in full force and I’m feeling a little lonely here in Seattle.  I can’t wait to meet new people but it’s hard to do so here especially as I work from home.

I’m trying to be proactive and I signed up for a drawing class.  It doesn’t start soon enough though – the 2nd of February.  I’m REALLY looking forward to it.

The hospital where I’ll give birth offers exercise classes for pregnant women in all trimesters so I think I’ll start to go to those too.  They also offer some other classes to take throughout pregnancy for both just the mom and for the couple.

So, I can’t say that I’m not trying…any suggestions on how else I can meet new people?

*******************

In pregnancy related news, I got the referral for the NT scan.  I need to call tomorrow to get it scheduled.  I’m a little nervous about it but I also look forward to seeing our little one again.

Call me crazy but I think I can already feel my uterus getting larger especially when my bladder is full and in the morning after I’ve been asleep for a few hours and I’m curled up.  It might just be my imagination but I swear I can feel that my belly is getting larger than normal.  Have you experienced this?

*******************

We told my parents.  They were thrilled.  I’m particularly nervous about my dad because he has a very clear preference for liking little girls over little boys.  My parents have a surrogate granddaughter and adore her.  My brother and his wife are having a little girl and so I’m so worried that he will love this little girl more than my child.  (So dumb, I know).  But my dad and I are so close, I’ll be so sad if he doesn’t adore my baby as much as my brother’s daughter.  Can you tell I’m still resentful and mad at my bro and SIL?  Things haven’t improved and in fact in our Christmas conversation they told me AGAIN (f*ck you) that I should try relaxing and maybe I’ll get pregnant.  Even though I’m already pregnant, hearing those words made my blood boil.  Anyway, I know that my fear of having my dad love my little one less than my brother’s daughter is ridiculous but I can’t help myself.

My parents are in Asia as my dad is working in the ER of a refugee camp.  MH and I are thinking of going for a babymoon in March before they leave so we can see them.  Is that crazy?  We would try to get business class tickets so we could stretch out and the doctor said that it is safe….but I’m a little worried about it.  I know medically I’ll be fine especially with my dad there but is that just totally nuts for us to go to Asia?  Should we wait until my parents are back in Europe and do our babymoon over there instead?

2 thoughts on “Blue

  1. I definitely think keeping busy helps, and you seem to have a lot of things to look forward to in the next few months. Those exercise classes sound awesome, and maybe it will be a good way to meet moms and moms-to-be to hang out with after the baby is born. Where in Asia are your parents? It sounds like it would be fine, especially since it’s early enough in the pregnancy.

Please share your story

