Different


The past two months I did a few things differently that may or may not have played a role in my (fingers crossed) ability to get pregnant naturally this cycle.  I thought I’d share everything that I can think of with you and also with myself for historical purposes.

First, we moved to Seattle.  I know that probably didn’t play a role in it but who knows, right?  Maybe environment did play a part?!

Second, I started working with a new acupuncturist.  I really loved my acupuncturist in San Francisco but the one who I’m working with her in Seattle is just amazing.  I give her a lot of credit for making my body ready for pregnancy (fingers crossed).

Third, I started to eat primarily gluten-free.  I’ve been pretty casual about it especially since Thanksgiving but I still try and avoid gluten.

Fourth, I relaxed.  How annoying, right?  But, it’s true.  Knowing that IVF was our next step and feeling ready for it, I wasn’t as stressed whether or not I was going to get pregnant.  I was more stressed about which fertility center to choose and which would help us to make our dreams come true.  I failed at taking OPKs – not getting a clear positive for the past two cycles and with my thermometer broken (and wacky sleep hours with a new puppy), I wasn’t able to chart my temperature.  I promise I will never ever tell anyone to relax when they’re having a hard time conceiving but in retrospect, I think that not being able to pay as close attention aka relaxing may have played a positive role for me.

This truly is a miracle in the works and I thank you for your support and encouragement along the way.  I’m feeling much better after yesterday’s scary pain.  Fortunately, the pain hasn’t returned and there has been not a single sign of spotting, so I think it’s just my body adjusting to this new thing happening to it!

***********************

In other news, Winston is growing up and getting bigger every day.  He starts obedience training this afternoon.  We got private lessons since our little guy is easily distracted!  Fingers crossed that these lessons go well and we have a well behaved and well trained puppy in seven weeks!

I’m including a photo I took of him yesterday so you can see how much he’s grown since you last saw him!

6 thoughts on “Different

  1. Awww he’s adorable!! So glad the pain hasn’t returned. It sounds like it was just a random pregnancy twinge because your body is changing…definitely a good sign!

  2. Aww, what a cute puppy!

    I’m glad to hear that the pain hasn’t returned and there is no spotting. I hope that means that all is well!

  3. Thanks for sharing!! I definitely think those things could have played a role in your pregnancy 🙂 So excited still for you! Winston is absolutely adorable!!

Please share your story

