Still in Shock and Still Pregnant!


We’re still shocked.  This was our last month trying naturally before moving onto IVF and it was a month that if we had gone with the Sher Institute I would have been on The Pill and would not be in this position.

I took another digital HPT this morning and it was still positive!  I don’t know how often I’ll continue to take tests but I probably will until I get a doctor’s confirmation.  Our new health insurance doesn’t kick in until December first and I need to find a whole new set of doctors.  It should be interesting.

There will be more than a few milestones that we need to reach until I feel comfortable.  The first will be to get past the same time frame as our first loss at 5w5d.  The second will be to get to the first ultrasound.  The third to get through the first trimester.

Luckily, I feel a lot different this time around.  The first time, I was spotting from the beginning.  This time, I’ve had none at all.  I also was extremely bloated from the start.  This time not.  I realize that both spotting and bloating can happen in very normal pregnancies but I only have that one time to compare.  So, I’m using those as a benchmark.

We went for a walk this afternoon and talked about how we can’t control whether this is our take home baby or not.  We’ll both do as much as we can to ensure that it is but it really is out of our hands.  We have to have faith.  We also know that if this isn’t the “one” for us that we’ll jump right into IVF now that we have all of our homework done.

************************

I want to say thank you to two bloggers (Lisa at Hapa Hopes and April at Where Do We Go From Here?) who awarded me with the Liebster award.  Liebster is a German word meaning dearest, and the award is given to up-and-coming bloggers with less than 200 followers.

Here are the rules:
1. Thank the giver and link back to the blogger who gave it to you.
2. Reveal your top five picks and let them know by leaving a comment on their blog.
3. Copy and paste the award on your blog.
4. Hope that the people you’ve sent the award to forward it to their five favorite bloggers and keep it going!

These are five bloggers who deserve the same (not sure if I’ve followed the rules but these are bloggers who I’ve been following and love to read!):

1. Mrs. Green Grass at Baby-Making-Merry-go-Round

2. Newbie at Infertile in the City

3. Hope at Invisible Mother

4.  Brooke at Becoming Parents

5. Jenny at The Long Way Around

 

7 thoughts on “Still in Shock and Still Pregnant!

  1. I’m glad you’re still pregnant, and that things *seem* different this time. I really hope you get to pass those three milestones you mentioned–those are big ones!

    And thanks for nominating me for an award! I’m super touched that you considered my blog one of your top picks!

  2. Hugs. I know what you’re feeling right now, and I also have faith that you’ll hit those milestones and more! My (unsolicited) advice: try to enjoy being pregnant for now, give in to those moments of happiness without checking yourself with the thought of the loss. It’s hard to do, but it’s ok to be happy!

  3. I hate to be one of those people that says “Oh I have this friend that…..” but hopefully this helps. I have personally known 4 women I go to church with that have had miscarriages on their first pregnancy. All 4 have hhad uneventful, perfect pregnancies the second time around. 2 have already given birth to beautiful girls and 2 are in their 2ndfirst trimesters now. I know it doesn’t help to remind you that miscarriages are more common than people think because it does not take the pain away, but all 4 of their docs told them most women who have one, have only one. Something else I heard from them is that, when you make your appt, tell them you already had a m/c. They will usually get you in by week 5 instead of making you wait until week 8 or 9 like most women. I’ve heard them say that once they heard the heartbeat at 5 weeks, they felt much better. Hope that’s true for you too! I’m not going to pretend to understand how you feel, because I don’t. But I really hope this goes well for you and I think it will! Keep us posted on your appt!

  4. This is incredible news! I’ve been out of town all weekend and am just now catching up on blogs. I love to hear stories of natural BFPs after IVF, it gives me hope for us and baby number 2! I can’t wait to hear how this all progresses. I hope you’re able to make it through with out worrying too much. When will your first betas be?

Please share your story

