Drinking in the TWW


Yes, I told you all the other day that I think that I’m pregnant.  I appreciate your hope and good thoughts too.  But, I also know that I often think that I’m pregnant only for my period to arrive.  After my miscarriage and up until recently, during the two-week wait, I often abstain from drinking alcohol, exercising, eating the foods that I should avoid if I were pregnant, etc.

But lately, I wonder why?  It clearly doesn’t help me get pregnant so why do it?  I’m sacrificing so much and it never gives me the result that I want so I’m saying f’ it.

Don’t judge me but last night I went to dinner with a friend and I had a glass of wine.  I know that I’m clearly in the TWW and I’m having some pregnancy symptoms but I just don’t care anymore.  I don’t want to stop having fun and enjoying myself.  I decided that one glass of wine with a meal is OK.  It won’t hurt anything at this very, very early stage of the game.  If and when I get a BFP, I’ll stop having glasses of wine with dinner and all of the other things….Plus I’ve had friends when I was younger who weren’t TTC and drank for weeks before finding out that they were pregnant.  Their babies turned out fine.

What about you?  Do you drink during the TWW?

13 thoughts on “Drinking in the TWW

  1. I didn’t drink during the 2WW because I don’t really drink in general, but most people I know go by the rule, “Drink til it’s pink,” and their babies are fine 🙂 Definitely no judgement here!

  2. I’ve gone both ways… sort of depends on my mind frame that month. Currently I’m kind of in the mind frame that it’s ridiculous to put our life completely on hold and stop everything until we know it’s for a reason. Even if you are pregnant…. one or two glasses of red wine shouldn’t hurt. Once you get a BFP of course everything changes, but given the situation… I say drink up! Just my two cents!

  3. I used to always always avoid anything that could potentially harm a growing baby, but lately I don’t really do that anymore. So many people do crazy things when they don’t know they’re pregnant. I hate missing out on things, so I’m more likely to go for it now. I used to be crazy crazy about everything though! 🙂 LOL.
    I do drink occasionally now during the TWW. 🙂

  4. Not to sound like an alcoholic but if I didn’t drink through every TWW….lordy!!! It would have been an even longer 4 years than it has been! The way I see it, people get knocked up while hopped on coke, drunk, shooting heroin, exercising to the max, riding roller coasters (okay you get my point), so if you want to have one or two drinks once in a while…it is okay!! Our mental health is so important and taking away everything is not helpful (not that the one or two glasses of wine is everything) but so much is already taken or changed by IF. It’s not going to hurt the baby that is potentially growing either 🙂 So, I say, sip that wine and enjoy it!

  5. I personally only drink maybe once or twice a year so i guess I don’t but I have a friend who didn’t know she was pregnant until she was 7.5 months pregnant (the first time) and then 8 months pregnant (the second time) and she was going to the bar up until the weekends before she found out and drinking (thank goodness she got fixed after the 2nd so no more surprises) but other than not really knowing when the kids were due because she found out so late they cant give an accurate due date (she found out aug 30 she was pregnant had her apt sept 3 they said oh your due oct 3 +/-17 days) and her kids came out fine… so I wouldn’t worry about a glass of wine doing anything in the tww…

    ~hope

  6. I haven’t been drinking at all for several months now, ‘just in case.’ But I’m done with that, for now at least. I’ll be having a Kir Royale with my mom next week.

  7. Drink til it’s pink! I definitely had a few drinks a week during the TWW. Enjoy yourself and don’t worry – you’re not putting yourself or your baby at risk by having a glass of wine with dinner.

  8. Ahh, I debated this for so so long! For a good year I wouldn’t drink during the TWW, then I realized I was making myself so much more upset when I didn’t get that BFP. It was liberating to just live my life while waiting for the pink line but I still worried about excersize too… have I mentioned I worry about everything? Anyway, I say drink up and embrace your life!

  9. Hi there, here from ICLW. When I first started out to try and get pregnant, I didn’t drink at all during the TWW, starting from the day my temperature first rose above the coverline. After a couple of months, I decided I’d not do this any longer. A glass of wine or a cool beer just make some meals taste even better. Besides, until after implantation, there’s no connection between the embryo and the bloodstream, so no hurt there. I do try not to drink after the point where implantation could occur, though. But even there I’m not always strict. Life is hard enough when you’re trying and failing to conceive, and as long as we don’t get drunk every day, I definitely think that’s ok.

  10. Hi, here from ICLW as well! I say to heck with it and drink! If I held back every TWW I would have missed out on a lot of fun during those BFN’s! I think it’s ok, I know once you get the BFP you won’t, but until then, enjoy yourself, have as good of a time during the TWW as humanly possible which is very stressful! It’ll be a long 9 months of no drinking one of the cycles! lol.

    Best of Luck!

  11. I had a question about this a few weeks ago and did a poll on another website I visit and was surprised to find out that most of the women (at least the ones who answered my little poll) actually don’t make a habit of changing their drinking habits based on ovulation. They either drink until they get a BFP or don’t drink at all because they don’t drink. Very few stop just because it’s the TWW. I realized I don’t either…I base it a lot on my mood and how the TWW is treating me. So don’t feel guilty. 🙂

    ….But good luck!!!

  12. Thank you for visiting my blog (#98) for ICLW. I wish you all the best. Glad to hear you are getting going with the next stage soon, whether it be the arrival of a BFP/absence of AF or other. Fingers crossed for you! Good question on this thread. Many years back when first TTC to I drank and smoked (if special occasion…wedding etc) until AF showed and always felt guilty like it stopped me getting pregnant?!. Then I stopped drinking (and smoking) completely which made no difference to TTC so now between IVF treatment and on both cycles I stopped drinking in 1ww not 2ww as I couldn’t find enough evidence that a drink would be a problem before CD21. 1st fresh ET post ICSI I rested and ate all the right things, no booze…no BFP. Post FET, I got up from the transfer and went for lunch and had a glass of beer and chilled. By the 1ww I’d gone off booze and along came BFP. So who knows but if you do have a drink…enjoy it and don’t feel guiilty, you work hard to do all the right things.
    Hope you get your well deserved BFP soon x

Please share your story

