Getting Crafty!


Generally speaking, I buy things and don’t make them – except food because I love to cook.  I’m not very crafty or handy though I’m fairly artistic.  I’ve been considering a fertility bracelet for sometime now as I’ve read that they have helped women get pregnant.  Of course, I realize that it could be coincidental that someone started wearing a fertility bracelet, gets lucky and falls pregnant that month or two after starting to wear it.

But, I’ve wanted one so when I drove past a bead store not too far from our new home last week, the idea of making my own bracelet instead of buying one popped into my little noggin.  So, today, in the middle of a rainstorm (irrelevant but I’m still getting used the Seattle rain), I stopped into the bead store.  One of the women showed me how long approximately I would want my bracelet to be and showed me where the stones I was looking for were located and set me free.  I chose Rose Quartz, Moonstone and another stone that I can’t remember the name – all of which are known to help with fertility and conception.  I also chose a small stork charm for the bracelet.

Once I selected and arranged my bracelet, she helped me make it by giving my “string” and some clasps.  I strung it the way I wanted it to look and she put it together for me.  While I realize that it looks totally amateur, I’m really proud of myself for getting creative, taking an hour and a half away from the grind, and making something with my own two hands.  AND, the best part was that it was less than $30.  I realize that I could have purchased one for about $15 online but I loved the fact that I made it myself.

My uterus may not be functioning on all cylinders but my hands still are and I’m going to use them 🙂

Here’s my design (that’s an upside down stork by the way) and I plan to wear it until I give birth to my first child and hopefully another one after him/her!  (Please don’t judge my hands – it is so true that hands give away age before anything else…urgh!).

In other news, I still have yet to ovulate.  Granted, I didn’t take an OPK today because I used the last one in my house.  But, my temp was still down this morning and my CM has completely dried up.  So, I need to accept the fact that I’m either going to O really late (on CD 18 today) or not at all OR that my thermometer has broken and I need a new one.  Realistically, I need to come to terms that it is time for us to move onto IVF.  I’m going to need to mentally start to prepare for it.  I’m terrified but excited at the same time, if that’s possible.

Thank you everyone for your encouragement and ideas for starting to go gluten-free.  It’s time.  I have another question: how do you go gluten-free if the rest of your household aka husband didn’t?  Is it possible?  Or do I need to force MH into doing it with me too?

7 thoughts on “Getting Crafty!

  1. I want a fertility bracelet!!! So pretty, good job! =)
    I am currently making a batch of gluten free chicken soup an will boil noodles on the side for the fam to dish in. I will just eat the chicken and veggies. That’s a simple on though. Ugh, gluten free is hard!! We need to start something just about that!!

  2. I want a fertility bracelet!!! So pretty, good job! =)
    I am currently making a batch of gluten free chicken soup an will boil noodles on the side for the fam to dish in. I will just eat the chicken and veggies. That’s a simple on though. Ugh, gluten free is hard!! We need to start something just about that!!

  3. GORGEOUS! I don’t think it looks amateur, it’s pretty! I want one!!

    You can totally do it without forcing the hubby. 4 months ago I went completely gluten and dairy free, and my husband still eats both. Sometimes he’ll eat gluten and dairy free with me just because it’s easy and what I made was delicious. But other times he’ll go through the trouble to cook up some wheat pasta while I make my quinoa/rice pasta. Just depends. You can definitely do it though. It took him a while to get the hang of it, knowing that if he was cooking dinner he couldn’t do something for me with gluten but he’s pretty good at it now. It’s just like developing a new habit, ya know?

  4. It’s much easier if the household goes gluten free. We initially did two types of pasta, but then I found corn pasta and my husband finds it basically identical to wheat pasta, so we just do that. We do buy regular hamburger/hotdog buns/cereal/beer for him, but everything we cook is gluten free.

Please share your story

