Remembering and Keeping Perspective


Ten years ago, on September 11, 2001, I was living in Washington, D.C. and working two blocks from the White House.  Like every single American, I was terrified for my life, the lives of my friends and family and in a state of utter confusion.  There was a tremendous loss of control, which remained inside of me for months and possibly years after – almost like post-traumatic stress disorder from living indirectly through the horror.  Four planes full of passengers were used as weapons and killed thousands more.  Luckily, I was not directly affected though affected greatly and I knew no one directly who was taken from their life too soon – though I have many friends who do directly know people.

Today, I woke up obsessed with what time MH and I should baby dance because I got a positive ovulation test yesterday afternoon.  Then I remembered it is the 10th anniversary of September 11 – a day that changed our lives forever.  I’m going to stop obsessing now because there are more important things to do.

Like remember those who lost their lives on that day.  But, more importantly think about the loved ones who were left behind and hope that they are doing better.

Like remember those who have lost their lives since fighting to protect us from more attacks.  And think about those who are still on the front lines.

Like remember to live life to its fullest because the end is not defined.  More importantly, tell our loved ones that we love them dearly and every day.

Like remember to have faith that our destiny is carved out for us.  More importantly, make decisions that in our hearts will lead us to a positive place.

********************************

In spite of wanting to obsess today, I’m going to let it go.  Someone much bigger and more important than I knows what my future holds.  If this is the month, it will be the month – whether we baby dance this morning or in the evening.  It doesn’t matter.

What matters is telling MH, my family and friends that I love them.  And, telling you, thank YOU for your thoughts, advice, and support.

Please share your story

