Another Interesting Article on Infertility – New York Times


I thought this story was good but I wished that it covered the reasons how to better educate women about their “aging” eggs and how to better educate older celebrities into not “tricking” people into thinking how easy it is to get pregnant.  I’m sure some of those celebs are using donor eggs and because they have millions of dollars are able to get the BEST treatments possible.

Read this article and tell me what you think: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/09/01/fashion/fertility-is-a-matter-of-age-no-matter-how-young-a-woman-looks.html?_r=1&ref=fashion&pagewanted=all

6 thoughts on “Another Interesting Article on Infertility – New York Times

  1. I think it’s a better article than it could have been, but not nearly as good as it should have been. Even as the interviewees criticized celebs who mislead the public, they continued to namedrop instead of reiterating how unusual it would be for so many of these older women to conceive naturally, with no problems. At 33, I’ve been panicking about my eggs for three years, but I was diagnosed with PCOS at 28, so I’ve done a little more research than the average woman. I just wish it were more common knowledge that while diet and exercise and plastic surgery don’t do a thing for the reproductive aging process, celebrity money can sure make you think they do.

  2. Interesting article.
    I think the problem is much more than women not understanding how their eggs age, though. I know I’m just one person, but I was under so much pressure to succeed in school and career and life…being a wife and mother was not seen as a particularly worthy goal…I always felt like I had to make it in a “man’s world” (business) and postpone motherhood…and so, yeah, I ended up with a great career, but no one ever said in my 20s, hey, you should stop and have babies now while it’s easy. It was always just assumed there was time for that later.
    Also, even if you know you need to get with the program, what if your life isn’t in the right place? I remember a (guy) friend of mine telling me I should get with the program of having kids about 10 years ago, when I was fresh off divorcing my first husband and I was like, I’m not even in a relationship! That’s just not realistic!
    Celebrities sure do make it look easy…and it sure isn’t in the real world…

  3. Interesting article! Thanks for sharing it. I think there might be something to it, but at the same time I also think the argument is a bit simplistic. I agree with Kristen’s comment that there are a lot of other mechanism which should be considered when talking about why many woman are not having babies in their early 20’s anymore. My own situation is similar. I got divorced from my first husband at the age of 25 and I was busy with education and career. Women’s lives have changed radically just in one generation. My life is so completely different from my mother’s. She has been a house wife her whole life, she got married at 22 and had me at 23. She had her last and 4th child at 32. I meet my husband when I was 29, we married when I was 32 and this is also when we started trying for a baby. Was it already too late then? I don’t know because our infertility is unexplained, but I suspect there are also other reasons than just aging eggs. After all not everyone in their 20’s get pregnant easily either. In many ways I get a bit irritated when this subject of ‘aging eggs’ is aired in public debate, because there is this implicit insinuation that women are themselves to blame for their infertility.

  4. There it is in print: women are so stupid as to think fertility is linked to looks. Maybe I am too vulnerable just now but the article seems a bit judgemental.

    I was diagnosed with PCOS at age 30, though I had had cysts since age 22, maybe even earlier. I always knew getting pregnant would be tough, though I never imagined how much so. This article does not appeal to me at all.

  5. I think it’s interesting that infertility is starting to get so much more media attention lately. I just read another article the other day that really made me think as well! It’s just nice to see the topic being talked about so openly.

Please share your story

