Telephone Consult with Sher Institute


This afternoon is my telephone consult with Dr. Sher.  I had all of our medical records relating to our early loss and our previous tests, DOR diagnosis, etc. sent to his office a couple of weeks ago.  I’m anxious to hear what he has to say and what his recommendations are for us to move forward, if this IUI doesn’t work (I’m hopeful still that this call will be unnecessary when I test on Sunday).

I have two pages full of questions to ask him including what IVF protocol he would recommend for me, what his thoughts are on DHEA, if we should do an IUI with injects cycle first, etc.  Is there anything that you think I should definitely ask him?  So many of you have gone through this before me and might have some insight.  Thanks in advance!

I’m nervous that I won’t have time to ask all of my questions and that I might forget something important.  I’m not sure that MH will be able to participate because the scheduled time is still during work hours – and they require a three-hour window.  So, wish me luck and let’s hope that this conversation leads me to a new plan of action to getting me pregnant with my take-home baby!!

8 thoughts on “Telephone Consult with Sher Institute

  1. Good luck! I hope your conversation goes well and you get all the answers you’re looking for. Of course, I also hope that you get your sticky BFP this Sunday so you don’t even need those answers =) Crossing my fingers for you!

  2. GOOD LUCK! I can’t wait to hear about it. I had typed out a couple pages worth of questions for my initial consult with him. He actually did most of the talking though and had lots of great insights for me. He makes it pretty easy. I already know he doesn’t like DHEA – I was taking it and he said not to 🙂 I was pretty shocked about that because my other docs had recommended it.

  3. Stalking you!!!! Im in the same exact boat as you with SIRM!! Had my first phone conversation last week with Dr. P in NJ-now just waiting till I can get my blood draw for the NKA’s and APA’s. I am hoping to cycle with them in October. Can’t wait to see your update!

  4. I SO hope your IUI works and nothing else is necessary. Hope your consult went well. Dr. Sher. is supposed to be one of the best. 🙂
    Fingers crossed for you!

  5. The best thing you’re doing is writing down your questions. And if it ends up being 10 pages instead of 2, so be it. The right doc will sit with you for however long it takes to answer them all. I used to do the same thing and he thought I was a nurse because they were intelligent questions.
    Hi. I’m Tracey from the Fertility Daily (ICLW # 56).I’m an IVF mom of two, who blogs for my old RE as my way of giving back. I’m on a quest to help others TTC, especially those who can’t afford IVF. East Coast Fertility’s giving away a free Micro-IVF cycle and you can enter to win thru 8/28 at http://www.eastcoastfertility.com/about/blog/blog-entry/archive/2011/august/article/ecfs-extreme
    -family-building-makeover-video-contest/?tx_ttnews%5Bday%5D=01&cHash=a6f7a8f9f3d38be671d74bd524251f81
    Good luck and I hope your baby dreams come true.

Please share your story

